View Poll Results: Did it work for you?

Voters
1200. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    808 67.33%
  • No

    392 32.67%
Page 21 of 100 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 996

Thread: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

  1. #201
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    That was spot on - I really cannot express how clear and simple the instructions are - it did help that i'm using exactly the same card as you. I bow to your greatness mate.

    Thanks again.

  2. #202
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fredrikstad Norway
    Beans
    62
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Now I've been playing around for two days. Still my problem is that my card will not connect at boot up, but now I have found that the only thing needed is to run
    sudo iwconfig eth0 ap any

    and

    /etc/init.d/networking restart

    the wiki page about the subject suggests that I add iwconfig eth0 ap any to /network/interfaces

    Still this doesnt do it. Is there anywhere else I can put these commands to make it connect at boot up? Or is there a special way or place to put them in the interfaces file?

    ANother thing ,when i run iwconfig it says bitrate 11mbps, but in iwlist scan it says 54 mbps? Whats the difference?

    JØrgen

  3. #203
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    2

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    This was the easiest most straight forward instructions I have found in the linux world. OK so that may be hyperbole but WOW! It took five minutes for me to set this up and I am up and running.
    Thanks

  4. #204
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    62
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    not to blow my own trumpet, but i just used my guide with a fresh install of ubuntu and it works!! =D>



    I was wondering if someone can help me though, on step 4b the user is going to have to find out what kernel they have etc, is there a command to do this, but just list the numbers so i could change it from
    sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/2.6.15-23-386 ~/Desktop/wl_apsta.o
    to
    sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/`command' ~/Desktop/wl_apsta.o ?
    Last edited by nickm; June 6th, 2006 at 07:27 PM.

  5. #205
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    42

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by nickm
    not to blow my own trumpet, but i just used my guide with a fresh install of ubuntu and it works!! =D>



    I was wondering if someone can help me though, on step 4b the user is going to have to find out what kernel they have etc, is there a command to do this, but just list the numbers so i could change it from
    sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/2.6.15-23-386 ~/Desktop/wl_apsta.o
    to
    sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/`command' ~/Desktop/wl_apsta.o ?
    it would be uname -r i think but you dont need to put it in a specific folder on /lib/firmware. just dump it in /lib/firmware.
    The Linux Counter
    Registered user/machine: 418342/326176
    http://www.tuxtalk.org - TuxTalk Linux Community - Friendly, non distro-specific, helpful, alternative Linux community.

  6. #206
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    62
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by PPower
    it would be uname -r i think but you dont need to put it in a specific folder on /lib/firmware. just dump it in /lib/firmware.
    well some people were finding that they had to, so i dont know if it makes a difference or not.

    Thanks anyway, ill try it out

  7. #207
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fredrikstad Norway
    Beans
    62
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by joergenlie
    Now I've been playing around for two days. Still my problem is that my card will not connect at boot up, but now I have found that the only thing needed is to run
    sudo iwconfig eth0 ap any

    and

    /etc/init.d/networking restart

    the wiki page about the subject suggests that I add iwconfig eth0 ap any to /network/interfaces

    Still this doesnt do it. Is there anywhere else I can put these commands to make it connect at boot up? Or is there a special way or place to put them in the interfaces file?

    ANother thing ,when i run iwconfig it says bitrate 11mbps, but in iwlist scan it says 54 mbps? Whats the difference?

    JØrgen
    Sing HALLELUJAH!!! I went through the howto over again and now my broadcom 4306 works like silk

    Thank you very much!

    Jørgen

  8. #208
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    42

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by nickm
    well some people were finding that they had to, so i dont know if it makes a difference or not.

    Thanks anyway, ill try it out
    It works fine for me in /lib/firmware. The problem with sticking it in a kernel dir is that you have to reinstall it every time the kernel is updated. Thanks for adding the wl_apsta.o. It will come in handy when Ubuntu upgrade to 2.6.17 or later.
    The Linux Counter
    Registered user/machine: 418342/326176
    http://www.tuxtalk.org - TuxTalk Linux Community - Friendly, non distro-specific, helpful, alternative Linux community.

  9. #209
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    62
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by PPower
    It works fine for me in /lib/firmware. The problem with sticking it in a kernel dir is that you have to reinstall it every time the kernel is updated. Thanks for adding the wl_apsta.o. It will come in handy when Ubuntu upgrade to 2.6.17 or later.
    its okay, im using it now and its fine with the current kernel too.

  10. #210
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    10

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    After i go through the guide i can see AP's and connect to them (i get an IP and gw/dns) but i cannot get connectivity. Anyone else had this problem? I cant ping my DNS ip's or anything. I'm hopeing this is just a configuration issue. Did this on a fresh install.

Page 21 of 100 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •