Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Multiple Users on Small School Server

Beans

Multiple Users on Small School Server

Hello all, this is my first post, so I apologize if this is in the wrong forum.

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu, but have managed as a part time volunteer to get about 40 PCs running 10.04 at our small school (each one, more or less independent). Currently, we have 3 identical logins on each PC (admin, teacher, student) and each account has access to different directories on a separate server PC (via a basic NFS setup). Thus, students can log in on any computer and access their own files. The disadvantage is that students can see / change / modify other students' files as well.

I know that it is possible, but don't know how to set things up so that students would each have a unique login, and have their own unique home directory loaded onto whatever PC they are actually using at the time.

If anyone could provide me with a simple solution to this, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Multiple Users on Small School Server

You should look in to both openldap and samba. Both can do what you are looking for. I can provide more info later if you have questions at the moment I am on my cell phone though.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Dangertux View Post
    You should look in to both openldap and samba. Both can do what you are looking for. I can provide more info later if you have questions at the moment I am on my cell phone though.
    Hello Dangertux - I've been looking into ldap, but the docs I've come across all seem to tell you a lot of technical details, but with no examples.

What I'm looking for (and I hope it's realistic), are some simple examples to get me started.