Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Did I trash my external HD files?

Beans

Did I trash my external HD files?

I installed the newest 11.04 onto my external HD by mistake, (I just figured this out, I didn't know it at the time). I thought I was installing onto my laptop HD. I decided to do a re-install because everything was so slow. During the re-install I noticed that I was about to install onto the external HD and changed to my laptop drive. Now everything is superfast and great! Except that now I cannot detect my external drive Could someone please tell me how to:

1: Detect the drive and what filesystem is on it, if any is still on it,

2: Find out if everything is deleted that was on it before (I had lots of video files on it), and if all is gone;

3. How to reformat it to use with my new Ubuntu OS.

I am new to Linux so please be gentle.

Here is what I get when I type: sudo fdisk -l :

Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60011642880 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7296 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000cca90

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 7240 58146816 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 7240 7296 455681 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 7240 7296 455680 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System

The large HD is the external drive.

I created a directory in the /media folder and tried to mount the disk to that (I named it External) but I get a lecture on mounting syntax when I try to mount it.

Thanks.