Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Noob question about processor architecture

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    14

    Question Noob question about processor architecture

    I downloaded Ubuntu Studio (AMD64). I have a Core 2 Duo processor and a 64bit version of Vista *shudder*... When I tried to test Studio in VirtualBox, it wouldn't install because the processor architecture was wrong (it needed x86-64, it only found i686) Does that mean that I need to download another version of Studio

    ~Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,669
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    i know most AMD boards have a option in the bios (with processor that supports vitalization) that let a 64bit guest os run in virtualbox probably worth giving it a look if not you will need the 32bit in the virtual box
    you could just try it as a live cd (if your goal is to try it before installing)
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    14

    Exclamation Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    I would try it as a Live CD but, unfortunately, there is no option for that in the menu.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    474
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    Ok this might sound silly, but, when you set up you VM, did you tell it your VM machine is 64bit, or is the VM 32? Because other than that, I'm failing to find a reason for it not to install

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,669
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    Quote Originally Posted by nick2k11 View Post
    I would try it as a Live CD but, unfortunately, there is no option for that in the menu.
    live usb then or unetbooting via hdd
    what kind of computer (other than a netbook as they typically don't have one) does not support boot via cd dive in the bot menu
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    592

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    Quote Originally Posted by pqwoerituytrueiwoq View Post
    live usb then or unetbooting via hdd
    what kind of computer (other than a netbook as they typically don't have one) does not support boot via cd dive in the bot menu
    Perhaps the OP means there is no option on the CD for trying in a live environment. I seem to recall one of the US versions is afflicted with this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,299
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    Not all C2D processors have VT-x technology. For example my laptop has C2D T5800 and when one look at specs, one can see this:
    Intel® Virtualization Technology (VT-x) No
    For result I can't run 64bit virtual machines only 32bit. But of course I can run 64bit OS, as I already am.
    Check the specs. for your cpu.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    There is no option on the (US) install menu to run without installing. Specs for my comp are as follows:

    Core 2 Duo P7350 @ 2GHz
    4GB RAM
    200GB HDD
    nVIDIA GeForce 9700 (if that matters)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,299
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    You see, your cpu also does not support VT-x technology
    Intel® Virtualization Technology (VT-x) No
    Thats why you cant run 64bit systems in Virtual Machines. You need to download 32bit version.

    source
    http://ark.intel.com/products/36750/...066-MHz-FSB%29

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Noob question about processor architecture

    Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •