Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Older motherboard and newer Linux?

Beans

Older motherboard and newer Linux?

For my direct question, skip to next paragraph. I'm new to Linux if it isn't obvious. I've been using Macs most of my life, for work and for personal, of which I'm very familiar with. However, I'm not so familiar with Windows or Ubuntu. Last year, I had to get Windows 7 for my company, and installed a copy via Parallels 6. I also took an interest in Linux, and decided on Ubuntu. I installed the long-term build of version 10, then upgraded to 11.04, also installed as a virtual machine. I've played around with alot of it, trying to familiarize myself with the operating system and associated software... at least with what I can through the GUI aspect of it. I have a basic understanding of hardware, how it all works together, and terminology. What I am not good at is understanding drivers, firmware, and command line interface as I simply don't need it with my Macs. However, I do search for and read up on what I need to. I'm fairly intelligent, and research as much as I can. But, sometimes, I need some help getting started in the right direction. Now...

I decided to build a tower out of old PC components I was given, and would like to install a newer release directly on this computer. For me, this is the next step in learning Linux and Ubuntu with respect to hardware. According to 11.04's system requirements, I need a minimum of specifications, for which I have (processor speed, RAM, etc.). My question is, will I need external drivers, or does Ubuntu include and install what I need? Will Ubuntu even work on all computers, or are certain motherboards and processors not "built" to work on anything but Windows? Specifically, I'm working with an ASUS KV8 SE Deluxe motherboard with an AMD64 Athelon 3200. I just don't have enough experience with Windows or Linux to know how to start from scratch.