Thread: WARNING "encrypt home folder" basically cuts your hard drive space in half.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

WARNING "encrypt home folder" basically cuts your hard drive space in half.

I'm just learning about this, but I figure I'd start warning people because it wasn't clear to me. I'm a general computer user, not some computer science expert. I'm sure many other new users might not be experts in computer science.

When you first install ubuntu you have an option to "encrypt home folder". Checking this will cause your home folder to grow at twice the normal rate. Again, this is common knowledge to some users, but not new general users, which ubuntu is meant for.

I'm still trying to figure out how to undo the mistake with out reformatting the whole drive, but that's unlikely. I think reformatting might be the only real solution.

I've asked for help and the response was:

"LOL

This is normal behavior for Ecryptfs."

Then I got a link to the manual regarding installing and general use of this encryption system. This was from a high level user and he didn't even know how to deal with removing the encrypted/backup folder. I'm guessing removing it is not a really well known thing.

(edit: that high level user commented again with more info. Basically there is no solution other than reformatting your computer)

Again this is just an FYI to my fellow Ubuntu users. Stay safe! Take care!
    Last edited by Isaacgallegos; July 31st, 2011 at 02:54 AM.

Beans

Lightbulb Re: WARNING "encrypt home folder" basically cuts your hard drive space in half.

Quote Originally Posted by Isaacgallegos View Post
    I'm just learning about this, but I figure I'd start warning people because it wasn't clear to me. I'm a general computer user, not some computer science expert. I'm sure many other new users might not be experts in computer science.