Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Never ending installation

Beans

Exclamation Can't reach installer screen

I've never installed Ubuntu on any machine before and I'm a bit of a novice. So I'm installing it on an old Toshiba laptop that was running XP. It wouldn't automatically boot from CD so I held F12 and selected the boot from CD option and the next screen is all black with

[ 0.124007] [<c1..........>] ? ..........................

covering the entire screen where the left column of dots are number changing very fast and the right column is word commands like show_trace 000x452 (It's changing very fast and I cant really see what it say's, it's just to give you an idea)

It's been like this for about half an hour so I'm assuming nothing is really happening but then again I really haven't a clue.

EDIT: I just took a picture. It's probably a lot clearer than this explanation

IMG_2500 by C.P. O'Donnell, on Flickr

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Cillian
    Last edited by afrocod; July 25th, 2011 at 09:42 PM. Reason: adding image

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Can't reach installer screen

Do these texts stop here (in your photo) or do they keep rolling on and on?
    I see two possibilities...
    One. The video system on your computer is incorrect. Generally you don't see this stuff. It's in the background "covered" by a purple screen with orange dots rolling on it.
    Two. The disk or the ISO file is corrupt. Try burning at the slowest speed possible and, if that doesn't solve it, try re-downloading the ISO file.
    Alternatively, to check whether this is an isolated case, try downloading another distro and see whether you get some graphics instead of this.
    I support SOPA and I dare say it.

Beans

Re: Can't reach installer screen

They keep rolling on and on. I can't even read them, the camera was just quick enough to catch it.