Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 136

Thread: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,672
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.10 Cosmic Cuttlefish

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    You were quite correct. We want 5 and not 6. Please do:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r ndiswrapper
    sudo ndiswrapper -e bcmwlhigh6
    If that fails, then do:
    Code:
    sudo rm -rf /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmwlhigh6/*
    sudo rmdir /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmwlhigh6
    Now reload ndiswrapper:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    Any improvement?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    ok I did these commands and had no errors

    sudo modprobe -r ndiswrapper sudo ndiswrapper -e bcmwlhigh6
    Then I tried this command and had no problems or errors

    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    Then I did a "ip addr" and it brought back this:

    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:19:66:e3:7f:4c brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.100/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global eth0
    inet6 fe80::219:66ff:fee3:7f4c/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    The wireless adapter shows up in ndiswrapper gui and says it's installed, yet I get no options to discover my wireless network. Is there a specific command I need to use to detect my wireless network?

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,672
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.10 Cosmic Cuttlefish

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    Please reboot so we have a clean slate and then post:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -l
    dmesg | grep ndis
    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    Sorry for the late reply, but I had to visit my grandma and take a nap (been at this all day), anyway, here is the output from those commands:

    mako-kitten@Darkstalker:~$ ndiswrapper -l
    bcmwlhigh5 : driver installed
    device (13B1:003A) present
    mako-kitten@Darkstalker:~$ dmesg | grep ndis
    [ 52.897465] ndiswrapper version 1.56 loaded (smp=yes, preempt=no)
    [ 53.188903] usbcore: registered new interface driver ndiswrapper
    [ 108.744677] ndiswrapper (link_pe_images:565): fixing KI_USER_SHARED_DATA address in the driver
    [ 108.748311] ndiswrapper (link_pe_images:565): fixing KI_USER_SHARED_DATA address in the driver
    [ 108.751952] ndiswrapper: driver bcmwlhigh5 (Cisco Consumer Products LLC,03/28/2011, 5.100.68.46) loaded
    [ 108.754610] IP: [<ffffffffa00a6e39>] USBD_InterfaceIsDeviceHighSpeed+0x9/0x20 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754649] Modules linked in: snd_hda_codec_hdmi snd_hda_codec_realtek bnep rfcomm bluetooth binfmt_misc nvidia(P) snd_seq_midi snd_rawmidi ppdev snd_seq_midi_event snd_seq snd_hda_intel snd_hda_codec snd_hwdep snd_pcm psmouse snd_seq_device snd_timer k10temp serio_raw edac_core edac_mce_amd parport_pc snd ndiswrapper soundcore snd_page_alloc i2c_nforce2 lp parport usbhid hid floppy pata_amd forcedeth sata_nv
    [ 108.754687] RIP: 0010:[<ffffffffa00a6e39>] [<ffffffffa00a6e39>] USBD_InterfaceIsDeviceHighSpeed+0x9/0x20 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754767] [<ffffffffa008fc7a>] ? NdisAllocateMemoryWithTag+0x1a/0x40 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754785] [<ffffffffa00a6e50>] ? USBD_InterfaceIsDeviceHighSpeed+0x20/0x20 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754804] [<ffffffffa00a6e80>] ? USBD_InterfaceReference+0x30/0x30 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754826] [<ffffffffa00a6df0>] ? USBD_GetUSBDIVersion+0x20/0x20 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754842] [<ffffffffa00a6eb0>] ? USBD_InterfaceDereference+0x30/0x30 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754858] [<ffffffffa00a6ee0>] ? USBD_InterfaceQueryBusTime+0x30/0x30 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754874] [<ffffffffa00a6f10>] ? USBD_InterfaceSubmitIsoOutUrb+0x30/0x30 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754890] [<ffffffffa00a6e30>] ? USBD_InterfaceGetUSBDIVersion+0x40/0x40 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754911] [<ffffffffa00a7067>] ? win2lin2+0xe/0x11 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754934] [<ffffffffa00a2e02>] ? mp_init+0x72/0x210 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754949] [<ffffffffa009ceca>] ? pdoDispatchPnp+0x5a/0x190 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754964] [<ffffffffa009abb0>] ? IofCallDriver+0x40/0xc0 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.754984] [<ffffffffa00a3fbb>] ? ndis_start_device+0x2b/0x870 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755011] [<ffffffffa009abb0>] ? IofCallDriver+0x40/0xc0 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755027] [<ffffffffa009af26>] ? IoSyncForwardIrp+0x96/0xe0 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755048] [<ffffffffa00a5073>] ? NdisDispatchPnp+0xa3/0x150 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755066] [<ffffffffa00a7067>] ? win2lin2+0xe/0x11 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755087] [<ffffffffa009abb0>] ? IofCallDriver+0x40/0xc0 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755106] [<ffffffffa009abdc>] ? IofCallDriver+0x6c/0xc0 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755129] [<ffffffffa009abb0>] ? IofCallDriver+0x40/0xc0 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755149] [<ffffffffa009c8d7>] ? IoSendIrpTopDev+0xd7/0x120 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755177] [<ffffffffa009d1dc>] ? pnp_start_device+0x4c/0x90 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755196] [<ffffffffa009d531>] ? wrap_pnp_start_device+0xd1/0x180 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755212] [<ffffffffa009d7bf>] ? wrap_pnp_start_usb_device+0xef/0x120 [ndiswrapper]
    [ 108.755391] RIP [<ffffffffa00a6e39>] USBD_InterfaceIsDeviceHighSpeed+0x9/0x20 [ndiswrapper]
    btw, on top of loading after reboot I had troubles starting up ubuntu when the wireless card was plugged in so I unplugged it and restarted. I plugged it back in after it safely booted up

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,672
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.10 Cosmic Cuttlefish

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    Sorry for the late reply, but I had to visit my grandma and take a nap
    Grannies and Grampies love that! As it happens, I was Skyping with my grandchildren last evening!

    Is the 32-bit or 64-bit .sys file in /etc/ndiwrapper/bcmwlhigh5 or both? Only the 64-bit should be there.

    Adding "amd64" after "NT" on lines 76, 83, 87 and 94
    I also had to changed the files for them to point at the 64bit version of the files for example: AE1200xp64.sys,,,6 .
    Are you sure you did all these steps?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    I'm gonna try to give this one last try, I did alot of editing and it seems I'm not getting past a certain point. I'll try today to get it working, but if it don't happen I'll just sell this wireless adapter and buy one that is compatible. So lets try this again

    I edited the bcmlhigh5.inf file and added this information:

    Adding "amd64" after "NT" on lines 76, 83, 87 and 94
    I made sure too that no other sys files that aren't 64bit are in /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmlhigh5

    I might need to reinstall and start fresh or just get another wireless adapter

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,672
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.10 Cosmic Cuttlefish

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    Quote Originally Posted by makokitten View Post
    I'm gonna try to give this one last try, I did alot of editing and it seems I'm not getting past a certain point. I'll try today to get it working, but if it don't happen I'll just sell this wireless adapter and buy one that is compatible. So lets try this again

    I edited the bcmlhigh5.inf file and added this information:



    I made sure too that no other sys files that aren't 64bit are in /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmlhigh5

    I might need to reinstall and start fresh or just get another wireless adapter
    And after you do some double-checking and editting, if necessary, I'd reboot and check again:
    Code:
    dmesg | grep ndis
    About 2/3rds of my business is bcmwlhigh5.inf and 64-bit; not very much of it successful.

    I doubt you'd need to reinstall. Just remove ndiswrapper, the entire /etc/ndiswrapper folder and you're good as new.

    There are many threads here about working out of the box USB devices.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    Quote Originally Posted by makokitten View Post
    I'm gonna try to give this one last try, I did alot of editing and it seems I'm not getting past a certain point. I'll try today to get it working, but if it don't happen I'll just sell this wireless adapter and buy one that is compatible. So lets try this again

    I edited the bcmlhigh5.inf file and added this information:



    I made sure too that no other sys files that aren't 64bit are in /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmlhigh5

    I might need to reinstall and start fresh or just get another wireless adapter
    I had edited the ini file and it installed the device but it ran terrible. It would lockup and it did not see the 5ghz bandwidth on the router. The AE2500 seems to have trouble working under ndis wrapper on 64bit linux. I since decided to try the AE1000 and to my supprise it was up and running with no effort at all. I plugged it in to my machine and booted up to a fully functional device. Works in both 2 & 5ghz bandwidths, no lockups at 270mbps. FYI... I tested it on Fedora core 15 64bit.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    I just want to say thank you to everyone who contributed to this discussion, the xp driver worked with no problems using ndiswrapper on 32bit, but when I switched to 64bit I entered a world of hurt.

    However, thankfully, I can confirm the Linksys AE1200 working on 64bit ubuntu 11.10 on 802.11g. The AE1200 and AE2500 share the same drivers, so both should work fine. I can't speak on 802.11N connectivity as I don't have an N router to test it with, sorry. A lot of this will be similar to Fat-n00b's info in post #40 but with all the stuff I had to do extra to make it work on 64bit.

    Before you start, I have not added/modified/deleted anything relating to networking or any other hardware drivers(modules) since I did the clean install of 11.10 x64.
    These are the steps I took (pretty much all found here and pieced together):

    NOTE: THE FILES YOU DELETE IN STEP 3B ARE THE 32BIT DRIVERS. THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE FOR 64BIT ONLY FOR THAT REASON.
    NOTE 2: IF YOU HAVEN'T DONE ANY WORK TO INSTALL THESE DRIVERS WITH NDISWRAPPER YOU CAN SKIP STEP 1.

    1. First remove all prior work with this (replace bcmwlhigh5 with bcmwlhigh6 if you tried installing vista or win7 drivers):

    Code:
    sudo ndiswrapper -e bcmwlhigh5
    sudo modprobe -rf ndiswrapper
    sudo rm /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper.conf
    sudo rm -rf /etc/ndiswrapper/*
    sudo depmod -a
    I would restart the computer now just to be safe.

    2. Next, I had to build version 1.57 of ndiswrapper as the one in the ubuntu repositories didnt work, instructions for removing your current version and downloading/building/installing the new version can be found here:
    HTML Code:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=11612708&postcount=1113
    3a. After that is done, you must make sure you've got the right files in the folder with the winxp inf file.
    Download the XP driver here if you need it (You MUST use the windows xp drivers):
    HTML Code:
    http://homedownloads.cisco.com/downloads/driver/1224667593495/AE1200xp.zip
    3b. Extract those to an easy place to find them. After you extract them, delete the following files from the folder (probably unnecessary but do it just in case): AE1200xp.sys, AE2500xp.sys, bcmh43xx.cat, bcmwlcoi.dll

    4. Now you need to add the following lines to bcmwlhigh5.inf:
    Open in a text editor and put the cursor at the begining of line 178 and paste these lines:
    Code:
     
    
    [Linksys_AE1200.files.NTamd64] 
        AE1200xp64.sys,,,6 
     
    [Linksys_AE2500.files.NTamd64] 
        AE2500xp64.sys,,,6
    Adding "amd64" after "NT" on lines 76, 83, 87 and 94 is NOT necessary, it would just try to make the inf use the 32bit versions of the .sys files which doesn't work (and I've had you delete those files just in case you did amend those lines).

    5.
    Blacklist other bcm modules to keep them from loading
    Code:
    echo -e "blacklist bcm43xx\nblacklist b43\nblacklist b43legacy\nblacklist ssb" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

    6.
    Time to install! Finally, I know.
    Here's the commands (PLEASE READ THE NOTES BELOW FIRST):
    Code:
    sudo ndiswrapper -i /home/adam/Desktop/XP/bcmwlhigh5.inf   **CHANGE TO YOUR LOCATION**
    sudo ndiswrapper -m -ma -mi
    sudo depmod -a
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    A few notes on the code you'll enter (or did enter if you didn't read ahead first );
    First you can either direct ndiswrapper to your inf file (as i did), or you can cd to the folder it's in and just do 'sudo ndiswrapper -i bcmwlhigh5.inf'
    Second is that I don't know if everything in the second command is necessary but it DOES work, they are exactly what I used.
    Lastly, and this is VERY important, the moment I typed in the 'sudo depmod -a' and hit enter, my computer completely froze and I had to hit the restart button on the tower, however when it rebooted, voila! I could see my wireless adapter for the first time since I installed 64bit, and I could connect to my wireless network!

    Two final things about connecting to your router (which I had to do on 32bit and am guessing would've had to do on 64bit as well had i not already done it):
    1. If your router is set to NOT broadcast SSID you will probably not be able to connect to it. I had to set it to broadcast in the end as nothing i did worked, and i tried a LOT of stuff lol.
    2. If you are using WPA, in my case WPA2 - PSK, I had to change my password as for some reason it just would not connect, I ended up using one generated from here:
    HTML Code:
    http://www.yellowpipe.com/yis/tools/WPA_key/generator.php
    After setting the new wpa password, I was able to connect without any problem. Keep in mind, I had 2 phones, and 3 other computers connected to it all using the old password but it just would not work with the ubuntu+ndiswrapper combo until I used the one I generated, so if using WPA, and you can't connect, try one from the generator before you give up on WPA.
    MAC address filtering enabled on the router was obviously unaffected through all of this, so setting SSID to broadcast was the only layer of security I had to sacrifice.

    Sorry for the MASSIVE post. I just can't thank everyone here enough, and if this keeps even one person from wasting their entire weekend like I just did, then making this post was well worth it. I know the last post is a couple days old but if I googled my here, someone else will as well. If there's somewhere else that it would be helpful for me to post this info I'd appreciate it if anyone would let me know. I've only used Ubuntu for a very, very short time, but I've been helped countless times by posters like you guys, so if i contribute back in any way, then I'd really like to.
    (P.S. Longest first post ever? lol)
    Last edited by Wojosama; April 2nd, 2012 at 03:58 AM. Reason: slight edit at end

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Linkys AE2500 USB Adapter Not Working

    Hi all,

    I tried following Wojosama's post and got to the point where I load the driver into memory using
    Code:
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    whatever program I used to run the command either through terminal using ndiswrapper 1.57, or later trying with ndisgtk and ndiswrapper 1.56 freeze. About a minute or so later my whole system will crash even if I try to kill the processes.

    After rebooting
    Code:
    user@ubuntu:~$ ndiswrapper -l
    bcmwlhigh5 : driver installed
    	device (13B1:003A) present
    shows an installed device, but it is not listed anywhere if I run ifconfig.

    Thanks in advance for all your help!

Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •