Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ubuntu doesn't boot up, stuck at logo with blinking process bar

Beans

ubuntu doesn't boot up, stuck at logo with blinking process bar

Dear friends,
    I am a novice to ubuntu. I was just curious to learn more about it. I have currently installed the ubuntu 11.04 natty narwhal edition through the wubi installer alongside windows 7. I wanted to just check out what the kde environment had to offer differently from the default desktop environment which is gnome unity environment.

I installed the kde environment using some sudo command given by google. After using kde environment for a few hours, I just began to feel, I liked the default gnome environment better (in classic mode) as compared to kde as I was more used to the former.

So I uninstalled kde with another sudo command which I got by googling. At the final step of the uninstallation, I admit I am not sure whether what I did was right or wrong. There was sth related to 'daemon' that popped up eventually and I chose yes for that and kde was uninstalled successfully or atleast that's what I thought.

But to my horror, when i tried rebooting my laptop to ubuntu gnome, the blue coloured kubuntu logo was popping once again and I had to go back to the synaptic package manager and delete sth called the 'plymouth' package to remove the kubuntu logo.

Now after doing all these, when I tried booting ubuntu, I was not able to get to the gnome login screen. The screen was just stuck with the ubuntu logo and the process bar blinking and gnome never started.