Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: What's another distro worth trying?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

What's another distro worth trying?

While I'm goingaway on holiday I thought I would try out a some new distros. I've been using ubuntu for about 4 or 5 months now?

I was thinking of trying debian, but a lot of people say its to confusing and outdated.

Also, I'm not a huge fan of gnome 3, but really, I'm open to try anything?

Just wondering what you guys think will be a good distro(s) to have a play around with next, I'm still new to the whole linux world still though.

Cheers.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: What's another distro worth trying?

Here you have a list of all popular distros: http://distrowatch.com/stats.php?section=popularity

Fedora and OpenSuse are also good, and I've heard that once you have Arch set up, you never return to anything else (I haven't set it up though).
    If you keep an Ubuntu based distro (like Mint), it will be easy to get used to since you'll have all the same tools.

And btw, how long did you try gnome-shell? Once you got the hotkeys (super key and alt-tab), it is really easy. I'm now using gNatty, a gnome-shell remix of Natty.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

If you're interested in branching out I say go all-out. Why stay in the same family and try Debian (although it's fantastic)? Ubuntu, Debian, and Mint are pretty similar due to their relationships. I say try a different Linux branch, e.g. something based on Red Hat. Try CentOS, or OpenSUSE. They have a different package management system, etc. You'll learn more that way!

Beans
    Hidden!

All of them are worth trying! if you have a hamster computer or know how to dual-boot.

Re. Debian, it's not confusing at all. Are the software packages relatively old? yes. But never confusing. The main repo is pretty stale, but you are hardly confined to those packages even if you install Debian Stable.