Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Hi there,

    I am trying to set up Mythbuntu (both frontend and backend on the same computer). Specs are as follows:

    *Athlon II X2 240e
    *Asus M4A785TD-M Evo
    *Antec NSK2480 - with the 380w PSU
    *4GB Corsair Ram
    *1.5TB AV-GP Hard Drive (Recording), 2TB F4 Sasmung (Storage), Samsung F7 Laptop Drive 500GB(Time Shifting and OS)
    *Hauppauge HVR-2200
    *Haupauge Nova-HD S2

    I have installed the programme but am having no luck at all in setting up the tuner cards or getting EPG information. The two above cards are a dual Freeview Card and a single Freesat card - are these both definitely supported?

    Are there any absolute beginner guides to help me our or could someone perhaps give me a really basic walkthrough to getting things up and running? I have used quite a few Media Centres in the past (MCE, Medaportal, GBPVR) but I am having absolutely no luck with this one - really frustrating as I wanted to try and get away from Windows.

    Any help would be really appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    116
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Which mythbuntu version are you installing? I am certain the HVR-2200 will work although a quick search found this thread. The 2250 is it's brother and what I use. Under mythbuntu 10.04 upgraded to mythtv .24 fixes I didn't have to install any drivers for my 2250.

    The mythbuntu wiki has an installation guide, have you seen this?

    Beyond those comments, could you be specific as to what happens when you do what. It's easier to figure out what to try next if we know what you've already tried.
    Out of the ashes of disaster grow the roses of success

    Are you for Linux? Is Linux for you?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Hi there - thanks for your reply. This is driving me mad.

    I am using the 32-bit of mythbuntu 11.04.

    When I go to the Capture Card Setup, I get to the heading DVB DTV capture card (v3.x), the Frontend ID says Contexant CX24116/CX24118 Subtype: DVB-S2 (my Freesat Card).

    I can add this card apparently without problem as /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0.

    I then go back to add my two Freeview cards I go back to the (v3.x) heading and it has "dev/dvb/adaptero/frontend0--Warning: already in use.

    I assume this means that I need to assign a new name for the next card but I have no idea how.

    Hopefully this makes some sense and thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Beans
    1,114
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Be careful you're adding the right chip in the card. Some cards have ATSC, NTSC and QTSC (or whatever that is called) and I'm pretty sure you have to add each one individually. So if you add ATSC and are scanning for a NTSC feed, it won't work.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tristam Green View Post
    I can tell you something about a turntable.
    I have two of them.
    And a microphone.
    Where it's at.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Quote Originally Posted by elsmandino View Post
    Hi there - thanks for your reply. This is driving me mad.

    I am using the 32-bit of mythbuntu 11.04.

    When I go to the Capture Card Setup, I get to the heading DVB DTV capture card (v3.x), the Frontend ID says Contexant CX24116/CX24118 Subtype: DVB-S2 (my Freesat Card).

    I can add this card apparently without problem as /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0.

    I then go back to add my two Freeview cards I go back to the (v3.x) heading and it has "dev/dvb/adaptero/frontend0--Warning: already in use.

    I assume this means that I need to assign a new name for the next card but I have no idea how.

    Hopefully this makes some sense and thanks again.
    change adaptor0 to adaptor1. Use the right arrow key in that field to change it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    I think I see the problem - on the Capture Card Setup page, when I go to DVB DTV Capture Card (v3.x), there should be a box underneath saying DVB Card Number. I don't have this and I think this probably means that the HVR-2200 isn't in fact being recognised by my computer.

    I would be really grateful for a walkthrough on how to install the drivers for this card (remember - I am an absolute beginner to Linux at the moment).

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    130
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    A search for your card in the box (Top right of this page )

    Yielded this, 30 secs! (0.023 Secs)

    HTH Steve
    Last edited by bance; June 22nd, 2011 at 02:33 PM. Reason: time adjustment

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Hi there - the thanks very much for that. The problem is following these instructions:



    I figured it out. I needed to install the latest drivers, like so:
    Upgrading drivers

    $ hg clone http://kernellabs.com/hg/saa7164-stable/


    $ make menuconfig
    $ perl -p -i -e 's/FIREDTV=m/FIREDTV=n/' v4l/.config
    $ edit as needed but should have all enabled that is needed

    $ sudo make CONFIG_DVB_FIREDTV:=n || return
    $ sudo make install
    $ sudo reboot


    Upgrading firmware to the files in:


    Download new firmware from

    http://www.steventoth.net/linux/hvr2...wares/4038864/


    Now copy that into the kernel firmware dir.

    sudo cp *fw /lib/firmware/`uname -r`





    I am totally unfamiliar with Ubuntu, thus have no idea what I should be doing - at a guess:

    Would I open the terminal and literally type the following:


    $ hg clone http://kernellabs.com/hg/saa7164-stable/


    $ make menuconfig
    $ perl -p -i -e 's/FIREDTV=m/FIREDTV=n/' v4l/.config
    $ edit as needed but should have all enabled that is needed

    $ sudo make CONFIG_DVB_FIREDTV:=n || return
    $ sudo make install
    $ sudo reboot


    After the machine has rebooted, do I then just typ, in a new terminal:


    sudo cp *fw /lib/firmware/`uname -r`?



    Sorry if this is really basic textbook stuff.

    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    115

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    I use a Hauppauge T500 in the UK so cannot really help with your specific query but will make two comments:

    1. I found Garry Parker's pages very helpful - google 'Garry Parker Mythtv'. He is UK based and has advice on both DVB-T and satellite.

    2. The T500 needs microcode to be loaded onto the card and I fully expect your card is the same. I find that code is only re-loaded after a cold boot - ie power off, pull the mains plug for a few seconds or turn power off on the PSU then re-power. I need to do this for such changes as turning on the T500 internal amplifier or (strangely) a switch from VGA to HDMI. You will certainly need to do it after driver changes.

    Best wishes.
    Phil

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    130
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: UK noobie cannot set up MythTV - urgent help please.

    Maybe first, open a terminal, and type (copy and paste..... saves typo's..... just remember the $ is a prompt so don't copy that.):-

    Code:
    lspci -vv
    Read through the output and see if your card is recognised, if it is there, then try:-

    Code:
    dmesg|grep 'firmware'
    This might give you a clue as to whether you have the firmware or if there is problems loading it.

    If your card is recognised, you can probably skip the first part of the solution, and just get the firmware if you need it.

    If not you will have to follow the entire solution....

    First install mercurial... from synaptic or:-

    Code:
    apt-get install mercurial libncurses5-dev
    Then change directories:-

    Code:
    cd saa7164-stable
    Then begin the solution

    Also after this line ( $ perl -p -i -e 's/FIREDTV=m/FIREDTV=n/' v4l/.config.) Where it says "edit as needed" escape or tab through to the finish... it should tell you which is correct!

    Then continue with the rest of the solution.
    Last edited by bance; June 22nd, 2011 at 05:44 PM. Reason: added some steps

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •