Thread: Eclipse & Qt install and uninstall

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Eclipse & Qt install and uninstall

Hello:

Not sure where to post this:
    machine: Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, AMD64

i downloaded Eclipse CDT (Helios), a C++ IDE, and install it directly via a double click
    after taring it.
    I was able to compile a Hello World sample. No problem running it.

i did not go through a package manager.

Then I install Qt plug-in downloaded from Qt.
    I followed the Qt installation instructions.
    When I open Eclipse, I do not see Qt folder when selecting a New project.
    I also do not see any Qt text when I select in Eclipse this: Windows>Preferences

So I decide to start all over. That means uninstalling eclipse.
    I can delete the Eclipse directory since I created a separate eclipse folder.
    Since I am a Linux beginner, I like to know the appropriate steps do a clean delete.
    Again: I did not use a package manager to install this.
    I do not want to delete Eclipse's folder, and then not delete other information about eclipse
    stored somewhere used by Ubuntu.

Please explain what to do.
    Do I just delete the eclipse directory since everything is there ( I assume) or
    there is a better clean un-install method?

By the way, how do I remove an installed application if it was installed via a package manager?

Please note that the installed eclipse software does not show up in Ubuntu Software Center application under "Installed Software".

We are in the 21st century, and I am still surprise we still have install problems like this.
    Last edited by hpng; June 12th, 2011 at 05:13 AM.

Beans

Re: Eclipse & Qt install and uninstall

You should always install from the repositories if possible. Eclipse is available, and all plug ins will be configured correctly for you.
    We are in the 21st century, and I am still surprise we still have install problems like this.