Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    8

    Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Hey. I am trying to install Ubuntu alongside Windows for programing learning, everything went fine until the installation of Ubuntu. I keep getting error messages and it end in something called "busybox". Looks like CMD. I have tried using the Iso on a cd and on a USB. Nothing works. I dont know what is wrong?

    "BusyBox v1.10.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.10.2-2ubuntu7) built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    (initramfs) -"

    Also like this: Chroot: cant execute mktemp: no such file or directory.

    After that it is like a wall of text of error messages.. :/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    1,584
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by shooninjo View Post
    Hey. I am trying to install Ubuntu alongside Windows for programing learning, everything went fine until the installation of Ubuntu. I keep getting error messages and it end in something called "busybox". Looks like CMD. I have tried using the Iso on a cd and on a USB. Nothing works. I dont know what is wrong?

    "BusyBox v1.10.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.10.2-2ubuntu7) built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    (initramfs) -"

    Also like this: Chroot: cant execute mktemp: no such file or directory.

    After that it is like a wall of text of error messages.. :/
    Sounds like a grub2 issue. You may have other systems installed previous to Ubuntu. Hang in there for a Grub specialist to read your post and provide you with help.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxinstalledfromhdd View Post
    Sounds like a grub2 issue. You may have other systems installed previous to Ubuntu. Hang in there for a Grub specialist to read your post and provide you with help.
    dunno what a "grub2" is though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Beans
    399
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    How much memory do you have?
    The problem was brought up some time ago in this thread, and it turns out that a full, normal installation was being hampered by a machine with a smaller amount of memory than what Ubuntu required.

    You can try the suggestion mentioned there, or you can try to install Xubuntu, which is a smaller Ubuntu. It'll still have everything you need to begin learning programming. If that doesn't work, or if you have a machine with enough memory that should be handling Ubuntu, then we'll see what else we can come up with.

    As for it being an issue with Grub2, from my experience, problems with Grub normally don't yield busybox. If it did, I would not have spent 4 straight days screaming and cursing at the grub rescue prompt.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Beans
    399
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by shooninjo View Post
    dunno what a "grub2" is though.
    The bootloader for Ubuntu is called Grub. The most recent version is Grub 2, and it is analogous to NTLDR (New Technology LoaDeR) in Windows and LILO (LInux LOader) in other Linux systems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    1,584
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    See what I did was install windows in Virtualbox 4 inside of Ubuntu so I could wipe my entire hard drive and just have Ubuntu on there. That's one option too. If you wipe the entire drive (as long as you have you stuff backed up) and install Ubuntu 10.10, and then your virtualbox 4 for WinXp, you should be ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by FormatSeize View Post
    How much memory do you have?
    The problem was brought up some time ago in this thread, and it turns out that a full, normal installation was being hampered by a machine with a smaller amount of memory than what Ubuntu required.

    You can try the suggestion mentioned there, or you can try to install Xubuntu, which is a smaller Ubuntu. It'll still have everything you need to begin learning programming. If that doesn't work, or if you have a machine with enough memory that should be handling Ubuntu, then we'll see what else we can come up with.

    As for it being an issue with Grub2, from my experience, problems with Grub normally don't yield busybox. If it did, I would not have spent 4 straight days screaming and cursing at the grub rescue prompt.
    I have a hard drive with 900+ gig, and i shrinked some of it (244 gig) to ubuntu. I am quite sure that the memory isnt the problem. It just popps up, however the installation runs smoothly until that point, after the ubuntu has done its "thing", like in the ubuntu screen. Then it comes a walll of text that eventually leads to that freaking box.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    1,584
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by shooninjo View Post
    I have a hard drive with 900+ gig, and i shrinked some of it (244 gig) to ubuntu. I am quite sure that the memory isnt the problem. It just popps up, however the installation runs smoothly until that point, after the ubuntu has done its "thing", like in the ubuntu screen. Then it comes a walll of text that eventually leads to that freaking box.
    Could be video driver?

    Are you using 10.10 or 11.04?

    I would try again with 10.10, and see if it boots from a live disc to find out what the logs say.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxinstalledfromhdd View Post
    Could be video driver?

    Are you using 10.10 or 11.04?

    I would try again with 10.10, and see if it boots from a live disc to find out what the logs say.
    Never had any problem with the driver so far.

    Ive downloaded the latest, think its 11.04? Gonna download 10.10 and see. Ill write when I have it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    1,584
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Getting "busybox" ubuntu installation.

    Yeah, just see if it makes any difference or not.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •