Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wish to swap Windows for Ubuntu

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Question Wish to swap Windows for Ubuntu

I have a slow Compaq which came out of Antique town in the Windows 98 period. It has a 900 MHz AMD cpu and 256 Megs memory. It runs fine with XP. I would like to upgrade is as Windows XP is too slow. Everything works fine, but after testing Ubuntu on my newer laptop I am thinking I would like to install Ubuntu on it.

I am new at this sort of thing for I have always used Windows. This is a step up from the Windows programming for my laptop but would it be possible to run a Linux based O/S. I like Ubuntu but I want the best for my desktop.

Any Suggestions? Problems, Feedback, please?

Regards,

John
    Which is true?

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Re: Wish to swap Windows for Ubuntu

Installing Ubuntu is very easy, just boot the CD and follow a very very simple installation guide.

For your system I'd recommend giving Lubuntu a try, it's a very lightweight derivate of Ubuntu and suits older or weak machines.

See http://www.lubuntu.net/ for more information.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Welcome John. 256 MBs might be a little problem but you can only try. Download Ubuntu and burn the ISO to a CD. Change the boot order on your computer to boot from your CD drive first, pop the CD in the tray, and boot up. What you have created is called a live CD. You can try it without making a change to your computer. Make sure that you choose that option. If everything works then go a head and install. I would play around with it for a while because there are other Linux distros you can try, Xubuntu which might be a better fit for your old computer or even Lubuntu, both of which are based on Ubuntu. Enjoy.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx