Thread: Linux Kiosk

Beans

Question Linux Kiosk

I am wondering if there is a way to make a Linux Kiosk for a shop/info point, that no-one will be able to tamper with, that will only have Firefox. It does not need to have a customised UI, because Firefox will be in full screen mode. I have tried stripping down Ubuntu with Synaptic, but I cannot remove some things without removing the entire Ubuntu shell. Do you have any suggestions? I do not like Tiny Core and Micro Core. The Kiosk can have as much RAM as you need it to, and it has a 256MB ATI Radeon and a 3.2GHz Pentium D. I am new to KDE and customising it.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Linux Kiosk

I've tried Webconverger and it works good.

Beans

You could also just run X without a window manager and with Firefox fullscreen in which any distro will work. Otherwise poke around google as I'm sure there's a couple kiosk style distros.

Beans

Question Re: Linux Kiosk

How would I do that?
    Too many cooks don't spoil the broth with Linux, and Ubuntu is the best broth!

Mint-Ireland, Ubuntu-UK, SUSE-Germany, Fedora-USA, ROSA-From Russia, with Love!

Beans

It depends on your setup for example if you're just starting X through your .xinitrc then all you would need is

Code:
    xsetroot -solid grey
    firefox
    Then in order to get firefox fullscreen you can manually specify the geometry using the -height -width options.

Ideally however you'd want to use one of the firefox plugins like R-Kiosk which unfortunately doesn't work on Firefox 4 yet. Furthermore this setup is extremely basic but won't allow any user to move windows or start anymore applications in X which sounds like what you want. You can also use a login manager if you prefer in addition to having the computer automatically login or start X.
    Last edited by kk0sse54; June 1st, 2011 at 07:29 PM. Reason: xsetroot -grey is ugly

Beans

Question Re: Linux Kiosk

So how would I edit that? Where is it?