Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston MA
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Wow, nobody's come up with an answer to this one? I'm experiencing this issue too and it's a real head-scratcher. I've gone ahead and started using Fluxbox instead, I need a lightweight WM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Try using Ctrl-I instead of tab.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    5

    Thumbs up Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    I accidentally discovered a fix for this while trying to solve a different problem.

    edit
    ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts.xml

    find the line

    <property name="&lt;Super&gt;Tab" type="string" value="switch_window_key"/>

    and change it to

    <property name="&lt;Super&gt;Tab" type="empty"/>

    reboot or whatever and then tab will work properly!

    I have no idea why but when using vnc this file seems to override tab's normal behaviour and makes it into a switch window key.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Quote Originally Posted by edwinorc View Post
    I accidentally discovered a fix for this while trying to solve a different problem.

    edit
    ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts.xml

    find the line

    <property name="&lt;Super&gt;Tab" type="string" value="switch_window_key"/>

    and change it to

    <property name="&lt;Super&gt;Tab" type="empty"/>

    reboot or whatever and then tab will work properly!

    I have no idea why but when using vnc this file seems to override tab's normal behaviour and makes it into a switch window key.
    Thanks! Saved my day

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Thanks so much edwinorc! That's been annoying me for ages!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    10

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    This worked for me on the local desktop, as well as in ssh terminal windows, but when I VNC to the server, the tab key does nothing (no auto complete, or tabbing in a text document). Alt+tab does switch windows, and ctrl+i will cause auto complete to work, but in VNC the "tab" key doesn't function properly at all. Why does everything else work but not VNC?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Thanks Edwinorc - just tried your solution for my VNC server running on Oneric 64-bit and it worked like a champ. Don't know how you figured this one out, but glad you did.

    regards,
    Russ

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    2

    Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Quote Originally Posted by Toz View Post
    Two things I would try:

    1. In your xstartup file, change the first line to read
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    Save the file, restart the vnc service and try again.

    2. If that doesn't work, within the vnc session, at a terminal prompt, re-source the .bashrc file like this:
    Code:
    . ~/.bashrc
    and try again.

    If those don't work, maybe the vnc programs are somehow remapping or blocking the function of the tab key. What server program are you using on the server? And what front-end program are you using and from what type of system (another linux box, windows box, mac, etc)?
    @Toz: nr. 1. did the trick for me. Many thanks

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    45

    Smile Re: Installed xfce, now no Tab-complete in Terminal apps?

    Quote Originally Posted by edwinorc View Post
    I accidentally discovered a fix for this while trying to solve a different problem.

    edit
    ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts.xml

    find the line

    <property name="&lt;Super&gt;Tab" type="string" value="switch_window_key"/>

    and change it to

    <property name="&lt;Super&gt;Tab" type="empty"/>

    reboot or whatever and then tab will work properly!

    I have no idea why but when using vnc this file seems to override tab's normal behaviour and makes it into a switch window key.
    This fix works for me. Thanks tons!!!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •