Thread: New to Linux..

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

New to Linux..

Hi guys, my name is Bryan from Nairobi, Kenya.

I switched from windows to linux a few months ago,and am loving it, though its been a bit tricky getting to move around and learn on my own how to do things in linux. I eventually want to open my own company to give solutions to small and medium business based on linux as you know windows software is really expensive and here lowering costs is a big deal for businesses...

My question is,

What do i need to do or learn to get better,what books should i read for a beginner?

How do i get to be proficient in linux, i have no knowledge of any programming language but i would love to learn ?

Thanks in advance for taking your time to read this.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: New to Linux..

A good place to start would be either taking a class in Unix at your local college, or study on your own with a good textbook like:

http://www.cengage.com/search/produc...=9781418837235

And the other thing you can do is start by installing and using Ubuntu on a daily basis.

http://cinderbox.net/2010/12/23/to-d...erick-meerkat/

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

My best advise is to install Ubuntu or another distribution onto your computer with no other OS (that means no Windows at all as a way to make you go back). Its really hard at first you will be used to 'the Windows way' but it gets better as you figure out alternatives and force yourself to not go back (this is just my opinion on the matter and this will not work for anyone).

Once you have that Linux distribution in front of you, www.google.com will be your friend as you will be working on your desktop and have questions which you can type into the www.google.com site to find the answer. For example:
    Code:
    Google Search
    <distro name here> make a new user