Attempted to reinstall ubuntu in a dual-boot Win 8/Ubuntu 64bit machine (see this thread:http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...7#post12605087 ) and now WINDOWS IS GONE. Apparently this option:
Erase Ubuntu-Secure-Remix 12.10 30nov2012 and reinstall
Warning** This will delete all your Ubuntu-Secure-Remix 12.10 30nov2012 programs,documents,photos,music, and any other files.
Actually means that NOT ONLY "Ubuntu-Secure-Remix 12.10 30nov2012 programs,documents,photos,music, and any other files" will be erased and Ubuntu reinstalled BUT THE WHOLE HDD will be reformatted, you will lose all your partitions and data, and then Ubuntu will be installed!
It kinda needs to say that.
I NEVER used Windows on this brand new computer, but I'm sure someone out there may have a pretty established Windows partition that they need for some reason and keep important files on and this option in Ubuntu-Remix IS NOT CLEAR about what it will do! Where do I go to suggest a wording change on this? I'm glad oldfred helped me back up all my kubuntu data..... but Windows is gone, and everything I might have had with it if I had been a windows-only user before trying Ubuntu. I hate to think of other people misunderstanding that option as I did!