Thread: EFI boot vs BIOS on Macbook Pro?

Beans

EFI boot vs BIOS on Macbook Pro?

Hi,

I am getting a new Macbook Pro 2011 soon and I am trying to decide how I want to set up my dualboot OS X and Linux. I've been reading about it, but a lot of resources are fairly old and I'm looking for clarification on some things. I'm rather new to this, so please excuse my ignorance.

As I understand it, I have two options:

1. Create a hybrid MBR/GPT with Boot Camp or diskutil and boot with Apple's BIOS emulation layer thing.
    2. Use grub-efi to boot from pure EFI.

Firstly, a lot of (older) guides recommend using rEFIt with the first option, but I've heard that rEFIt no longer works? Can I set up the hybrid MBR/GPT without rEFIt, and, if so, what problems will I encounter? Is it as simple as partitioning and just installing Ubuntu?

Secondly, does booting Ubuntu from EFI currently work well? Is grub-efi working properly? I read somewhere that there may be issues with graphics and a lack of 3d acceleration - is this still the case? Also, if I were to take this route, how would I start setting up a pure GPT EFI boot on my laptop? Are there basic, noob-friendly instructions somewhere? Do I still use Bootcamp/diskutil to partition? How do I prevent it from making a hybrid MBR/GPT partition scheme? How would I even install Ubuntu with grub-efi? Is a pure EFI boot currently better or worse than the former option?

Beans

Re: EFI boot vs BIOS on Macbook Pro?

You might want to check this page I wrote on EFI-booting Ubuntu 10.10, as well as my page on hybrid MBRs. The two pages combined will answer a lot of your questions. You should also read this forum post, which describe an attempt to EFI-boot 11.04 that seems to have damaged the computer's firmware.