Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: desktop graphic problems

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Angry desktop graphic problems

I am very new to ubuntu. Since upgrading from Maverick Meerkat to Natty Narwhal My desktop has been unusable. At login I chose Ubuntu classic as instructed when installing Natty Narwhal as my hardware wouldn't support the new desktop. At startup the desktop appears for a second and then disappears and I am left with the ubuntu startup screen with the usual desktop menus across the top. When I click on a menu the submenu appears and a rectangular box slightly larger than the menu with the desktop visible in this box. If I select anything it flickers on and off and appears to be underneath the ubuntu startup screen as if it were a layer. Please help I am at a complete loss. Is there anything I can do? Could I reinstall Maverick Meerkat from a C.D.? Thank you.My computer is a Dell Dimension 1100 and has integrated Intel Extreme Graphics 2. I am dual booting with Windows XP, which is working normally.

i clicked on a card game it flickered but didn't come on, then I pressed shutdown and the game was visible behind the shutdown dialogue box but was not responding to mouse clicks but if I click shutdown that works.
    Last edited by toxictex; May 9th, 2011 at 01:08 PM. Reason: More info'

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: desktop graphic problems

Hi and welcome to the forums

As you discovered, your hardware is probably unable to handle the requirements for Unity-3D.

See here for more:
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DesktopExper...reRequirements

However, you should consider installing and trying Unity-2D which seems, from my testing so far, to be up to the job with older Intel graphics cards.

But, if you have less than 1GB of RAM it could be an issue.

Unity-2D is available for download and installation from the official repositories, so either via Synaptic or Ubuntu Software Center.