Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    207

    If you are using Firefox 4 or later.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Quote Originally Posted by mmix View Post
    It doesn't disable tracking. All it does it lets sites know you don't want to be tracked, it's up to them to listen to that request or not.

    It's similar to walking around town with a shirt saying 'Please don't stalk me' on it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Obscurial Springs
    Beans
    14,826
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie Development Release

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Quote Originally Posted by Throne777 View Post
    It doesn't disable tracking. All it does it lets sites know you don't want to be tracked, it's up to them to listen to that request or not.

    It's similar to walking around town with a shirt saying 'Please don't stalk me' on it.
    True , I have that option enabled and Ghostery is still blocking up to for trackers most of the time .
    "Our intention creates our reality. "

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Flavors

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    341

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Google helpfully asks if you want them to collect stats on your browsing.

    No kidding!

    Its none of their damned business to do that in their browser.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Quote Originally Posted by NormanFLinux View Post
    Google helpfully asks if you want them to collect stats on your browsing.

    No kidding!

    Its none of their damned business to do that in their browser.
    A lot of programs do. Banshee (the media player) asks if it can collect usage data, for example.

    Such things aren't sufficient conditions for super evil, Orwellian nightmares.
    'And all we ever were, just zeros and ones'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    341

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    We can opt out to protect our privacy. I don't want some corporation tracking what sites I visit. It usually never is to just improve their product.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    N. Wisconsin
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Wish Microsoft WGA would have an opt-out.

    Also, had this checked since iI nstalled, since I knew it was one of the big features advertised when mozilla firefox 4 was advertised.
    AMD PII X6 @ 3.63 GHz - 16 GB DDR3 (1600 No OC) - ASUS Crosshair V Formula
    SB X-Fi 2 Sound (8ch) - Intel 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet - Win 8 Pro. x64
    AMD R HD 7950 (SAPPHIRE) - WD CG 500GB - Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Quote Originally Posted by NormanFLinux View Post
    We can opt out to protect our privacy. I don't want some corporation tracking what sites I visit. It usually never is to just improve their product.
    Depends. Anonymous tracking (which is almost certainly what Google would be doing with Chrome) can hardly be said to be 'tracking you'. If the data was personally identifiable (which, I believe, it isn't), then I'd agree with you. Otherwise, you're not protecting your privacy by opting out, because your privacy was never being violated in the first place.
    'And all we ever were, just zeros and ones'

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    10,046
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    To solve the MS WGA issue, just don't install it. I have one PC in the house with Windows and it has the ever-present one update to install: WGA. I just decline and move on. I think WGA stands for "We Gonna Annoy".
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    N. Wisconsin
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: If you are using Firefox 4 or later.

    Quote Originally Posted by tgalati4 View Post
    To solve the MS WGA issue, just don't install it. I have one PC in the house with Windows and it has the ever-present one update to install: WGA. I just decline and move on. I think WGA stands for "We Gonna Annoy".
    WGA is also on when you activate your key, it's just a different kind.
    AMD PII X6 @ 3.63 GHz - 16 GB DDR3 (1600 No OC) - ASUS Crosshair V Formula
    SB X-Fi 2 Sound (8ch) - Intel 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet - Win 8 Pro. x64
    AMD R HD 7950 (SAPPHIRE) - WD CG 500GB - Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •