Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    28

    Question Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    Hi,I am running Ubuntu, the latest one Unix (11.04 Ubuntu default) I have downloaded a Warcraft 3 ISO and would like a step by step guide as to how to Mount it, Install it, and run it.

    I am using an old CD key, so I don't even know if I can update

    I had almost everything done I used Acetone ISO to mount it, I installed it fine with wine, and finally when it came time to play I got the No cd in CD tray error

    I have seen plenty of threads explaining this. But none were primarily focussed on JUST installing it from a mounted ISO.

    I am not familiar with the terminal, and just switched from XP saturday.

    (Mostly because I had 7 tried to install XP from a usb drive and ended up formatting my hard drive D: In the end I didn't want to pay for the install CD so I installed Ubuntu and LOVE IT)

    I have an ASUS EEE PC P1001x

    If someone could help me with nub friendly instructions and I'd be really appreciative, as I've been lurking the forums since Saturday looking for tips that would help me.
    Last edited by Turtlicious; May 4th, 2011 at 06:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Europe
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    I could be wrong, but the latest patch doesn't have copy protection any more. Just go ahead and install it.
    I have no signature. Yeah, really.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    28

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    Ahh... I did not know that...

    I have AT&T the cheapest one, so I will tell you if that worked in...

    5 hours...

    Maybe I should just do it from starbucks...

    Thank you so much though Prog I did not know that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    28

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    Code:
    justin@justin-1001PX:~$ wine /home/justin/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/Warcraft\ III/Warcraft\ III.exe -opengl
    Warning: could not find DOS drive for current working directory '/home/justin', starting in the Windows directory.
    err:ole:CoCreateInstance apartment not initialised
    fixme:advapi:SetSecurityInfo stub
    fixme:d3d_caps:select_card_intel_mesa Card selection not handled for Mesa Intel driver
    fixme:d3d_caps:init_driver_info Unhandled vendor 8086.
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f108,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f5d4,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f60c,0x00000000), stub!
    X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
      Major opcode of failed request:  129 (XFree86-VidModeExtension)
      Minor opcode of failed request:  17 (XF86VidModeGetGammaRamp)
      Value in failed request:  0x4800006
      Serial number of failed request:  1261
      Current serial number in output stream:  1261
    Now what do I do? I was able to start the game, but all the textures were removed... So, I searched the forums for the answer... it told me to try the code at the top it didn't work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    28

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    I feel awful for bumping but I really want this to work could someone please help me?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Derby, England.
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    Are you running the game from a NTFS formatted drive? It could cause problems if you are.

    If so, try coping it to your linux drive and running it then. Otherwise i would try re-installing it and using a NOCD patch from gamecopyworld.com providing that it is a legal copy of the game your using. That would solve the CD error.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    28

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    I used the blizzard Patch, I installed it through wine and yes it's the hard drive Linux is installed on.

    Is there anything else you could reccomend?

    I am using two monitors if that changes anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    28

    Re: Warcraft 3 Help, Installing from an ISO.

    Solved the problem, I ran it through windowed mode and everything went fine, also used -openGL and re-installed it.

    ^~^

    Thank you MasterProg and SkylineRacer.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •