Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Off World
    Beans
    70
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Question VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    I'm running VirtualBox on Xubuntu v7.10 and have setup a WinXP guest machine so I can watch Netflix streaming video. My PC is connected to a 61" HDTV with a native resolution of 1920x1080. My Xubuntu system uses that resolution and plays HD video perfectly so I know my video card works with 1920x1080. I've installed Guest Additions and have resolution choices of:
    800x600
    1024x768
    1152x864
    1280x960
    1280x1024
    1400x1050 (my current setting which works fine with Netflix except for a lack of full screen video)
    1600x1200
    1920x1440
    2560x1024

    Where's 1920x1080? Is this a VirtualBox or Guest Additions limitation? ..or am I just missing something somewhere?

    Any assistance is appreciated.

    01000111

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    321
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Go to the display settings of the virtual machine, select settings > advanced, then under the monitor tab, untick the checkbox 'Hide modes that this monitor cannot display' and it should be available.
    Throw Apples out the Windows, but make sure not to hit the Penguin.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Off World
    Beans
    70
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Thanks, but that checkbox is greyed out. I think that's because the TV shows up as a generic monitor and I have yet to find a .inf file for it. Any known registry tweak to fix this instead of using the GUI?

    01000111

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    6

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    I had the exact same problem with my widescreen LCD monitor, apparently there are only 4:3 resolutions in the presets modes.

    To get a custom resolution in your Windows guest, start your VM and wait until it has loaded the desktop. Then open a terminal in linux and type this command:

    Code:
    VBoxManage controlvm nameofyourVM setvideomodehint width height colordepth
    In my case for example I used:

    Code:
    VBoxManage controlvm winbox setvideomodehint 1920 1200 24
    Voila, enjoy your full-screen

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Horten, Norway
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Thanks PenguinHugger, that did the trick for me
    Damn, it sucks to be a n00b!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Beans
    66
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    I tried that command it did not do anything to my virtual window.
    I have spent hours trying to figure out why I can not get 16:9 resolutions in virtualbox and any help would be greatly appreciated. If there is anything I need to post just reply and I will get back to you with the info.

    gw
    Last edited by aggiemarine07; September 15th, 2008 at 06:46 PM.
    gw

    "If the HelpDesk determines that your questions is stupid, we will set you on fire."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Off World
    Beans
    70
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by aggiemarine07 View Post
    I tried that command it did not do anything to my virtual window.
    I have spent hours trying to figure out why I can not get 16:9 resolutions in virtualbox and any help would be greatly appreciated. If there is anything I need to post just reply and I will get back to you with the info.

    gw
    My final solution was to get xubuntu running in 1920x1080, then start vbox and hit CTRL-F. That caused it to run in the full screen mode, which used the native mode of xubuntu.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by aggiemarine07 View Post
    I tried that command it did not do anything to my virtual window.
    I have spent hours trying to figure out why I can not get 16:9 resolutions in virtualbox and any help would be greatly appreciated. If there is anything I need to post just reply and I will get back to you with the info.

    gw
    Hi,

    I'm running v2.0.2 of VBox and found the following command in Terminal worked for me (although only after closing and restarting VBox itself):

    VBoxManage setextradata winbox CustomVideoMode1 1440x900x24
    (Where winbox is the name of my VM. You can setup a number of custom video modes - 15 I think - by incrementing CustomVideoModeX)

    Hope this helps!

    Andy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by penguinhugger View Post
    I had the exact same problem with my widescreen LCD monitor, apparently there are only 4:3 resolutions in the presets modes.

    To get a custom resolution in your Windows guest, start your VM and wait until it has loaded the desktop. Then open a terminal in linux and type this command:

    Code:
    VBoxManage controlvm nameofyourVM setvideomodehint width height colordepth
    In my case for example I used:

    Code:
    VBoxManage controlvm winbox setvideomodehint 1920 1200 24
    Voila, enjoy your full-screen
    Hi,
    i'm using virtual box 3.0.6 , my guest is win7 , the above command doesn't work for me (even worst before the highest res was 1280x1024 after the command the highest res is 1280x960)
    i'm clueless ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: VirtualBox resolution of 1920 x 1080 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by shaulch View Post
    Hi,
    i'm using virtual box 3.0.6 , my guest is win7 , the above command doesn't work for me (even worst before the highest res was 1280x1024 after the command the highest res is 1280x960)
    i'm clueless ...
    ok , i increased the graphics memory to 128mb and now it works !

    thanks all,
    Shaul.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •