Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

    For those who know about the Qt version offered in Kubuntu 11.04, when I compile my own program in KDevelop I get this error immediately:

    CMake Error: Generator: execution of make failed. Make command was: /usr/bin/gmake "cmTryCompileExec/fast"
    CMake Error at /usr/share/kde4/apps/cmake/modules/FindKDE4Internal.cmake:1300 (message):
    Qt compiled without support for -fvisibility=hidden. This will break
    plugins and linking of some applications. Please fix your Qt installation.

    Call Stack (most recent call first):
    /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindKDE4.cmake:95 (FIND_PACKAGE)
    CMakeLists.txt:3 (find_package)

    Any ideas how to fix this? I hope Kubuntu doesn't have a copy of Qt that is useless in development

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    2,134
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

    do you have libqt4-dev installed?
    on my system the flag for visibility support (QT_VISIBILITY_AVAILABLE) is defined

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

    I have it installed. How do I check what the flag is defined to?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    2,134
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

    compile this:
    Code:
    // compile with:
    // g++ tmp.cpp -I /usr/include/qt4/
    
    #include <QtCore/QtGlobal>
    int main() {
    #ifndef QT_VISIBILITY_AVAILABLE
    #error QT_VISIBILITY_AVAILABLE is not available
    #else
    #warning ok
    #endif
    }

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

    I get #warning ok, so the flag is set! So why cmake complain about a missing flag?

    At the same time, KDevelop also can't find my Qt libraries yet I have them installed (eg. libqt4-dev)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    [Solved] Re: Qt compiled without -fvisibility=hidden

    I think it was a problem with some config files. I create a new KDevelop project and copied over all my source code and know everything works

    Rule#1 in programming - keep your development environment the same!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •