Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    12

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Quote Originally Posted by wildmanne39 View Post
    Hi, make sure you did it just like post 12 says.

    Set your router to wpa2 and not mixed mode or wep, then post back and we will go from there.
    Thank you
    Hey i tried your code in /etc/rc.local

    Code:
    rmmod -f ath5k
    rfkill unblock all
    modprobe ath5k
    here is the output after rebooting (net doesn't work without removing acer-wmi and installing ath9k modules) followed by my commands to make it work:

    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ rfkill list all
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    1: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: yes
    Hard blocked: no
    2: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    3: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ sudo rmmod -f acer-wmi
    [sudo] password for vycas:
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ sudo modprobe ath5k
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ rfkill list all
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    2: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    3: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ sudo modprobe ath9k
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ rfkill list all
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    2: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    3: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    4: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$

    ================================================== ===================

    If i change the commands in /etc/rc.local to:

    Code:
    sudo modprobe ath9k
    sudo rmmod -f acer-wmi
    NOTE: i do not need
    Code:
    sudo rfkill unblock all
    since that command doesn't change anything.

    then it says connected when i login and all the bars are up in my network strength, but in chrome it just don't load homepage of google. Gets stuck at sending request.

    When i do nothing in /etc/rc.local .i.e. revert the changes i make and keep it back to original exit 0 state and manually enter the commands in the following sequence it works:

    Code:
    sudo modprobe ath9k
    sudo rmmod -f acer-wmi
    I do not what's the difference in manually entering the above commands or putting it in /etc/rc.local which anyway runs it automatically when i login. WONDERING


    Regarding changing my router to wpa2 nand not mixed. Well i have no encryption on my router, i use mac address filtering to control access.

    My problem is more like this thread and i noticed almost all of them have SONY VAIO:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...85+slow&page=2

    My wireless works good when i am within 10 ft from my router. But as i start moving away, my latency in pinging to my router jumps from usual ~2ms to ~2000ms and the signal strengths starts dropping and as soon as i loose one bar .i.e. only 3 bars out of 4 are highlighted. It just stops working even though it says connected with 3 bars and starts loosing like ~50% plus packets.

    Another peculiar thing is that, i got win 7 and ubuntu 11.04 on same hard drive. And when i reboot in windows after running ubuntu, the wireless don't work. In order to make the wireless work after running ubuntu, i have to physically remove the battery after shutting down ubuntu and then booting WIN 7 and it works perfectly fine and i can reboot it as many times and it works perfectly as long as iam rebooting it always in WIN 7. But the moment i boot in ubuntu and then if i reboot in WIN 7 then to make wireless work in WIN 7, i gotta remove the battery.

    NOTE: In windows my wireless work even like 40 feet away from router. So i know its not the limitation of the wireless card.

    I think the wireless error is in the ath9k driver with some buffer issue or something.

    Any insights?

    Vycas

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    29,818
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Hi, you have several things going on lets take care of them one by one.
    Code:
    sudo su
    echo "blacklist acer-wmi" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    exit
    Code:
    sudo su 
    echo ath9k >> /etc/modules 
    exit
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo rmmod -f ath9k
    sudo modprobe ath9k nohwcrypt=1
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    run the commands one at a time then unplug your wired connection and restart your computer and it should work.
    Thank you

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    12

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Ok good news is that now my wireless work even after rebooting. Thanks a relief from manually entering the commands each time (Blacklisting acer-wmi helped).

    Bad news is that ifconfig commands have no effect on wlan0 .i.e. even after doing

    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    net is still connected and working.

    and the problem is persitent of moving away more than 10 feet. Worse part is that if i move back in, like 2 ft from the router the signal strength get back to all 4 from 3 but the network ping and losses stays the same .i.e. 2000ms for router ping.

    The normal working for wired network is 1ms and for wireless is 2ms for my home network.

    Vycas

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    2,601

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Post removed--iwconfig does not have the up down commands. See

    man ifconfig

    and

    man iwconfig
    Last edited by bkratz; September 18th, 2011 at 12:08 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    29,818
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Hi, that command brought my wireless down, but not for long mine is set to auto connect and in about 10 seconds it connected back.

    Please post the results of this command:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep -e 0280 -e 0200
    Thank you

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    12

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Sorry for the delay, was busy exploring my ubuntu. Man this thing is awesome.

    Back to issue:

    Here is the output for the command:

    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep -e 0280 -e 0200

    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$ lspci -nn | grep -e 0280 -e 0200
    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet [1969:1063] (rev c0)
    vycas@vycas-VPCYA15FG:~$


    By the way i think blacklisting acer-wmi solved the issue of pulling battery out everytime i boot in ubuntu and then boot in WIN 7 to make my wireless work.

    I booted my WIN 7 yesterday and wireless worked flawlessly without any needs.

    Vycas

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    29,818
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Hi, that is good are you still having issues with having to be close to the router? Did you run these commands then see how it worked?
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo rmmod -f ath9k
    sudo modprobe ath9k nohwcrypt=1
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    do you want to make it permanent?
    Thank you

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    12

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    No my wireless works flawlessly if i am within 10 ft of the router and the 4 bars green for signal strength. I have been using it all night and day. Only problem happens when i move away and signal strength drops to 3 bars. Then i have to do this again:

    Code:
     
    sudo rmmod -f ath9k
    sudo modprobe ath9k
    and it works back to normal again if i am within 10 ft of router.

    Vycas

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    29,818
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: 11.04 Natty wireless issue - Acer - Device not ready

    Hi, that is what I was afraid of I just found out that those cards have poor signal strength at least in ubuntu if not all systems.

    That card was tricky to get to work at all, so I guess we should be happy.

    If I have been a little helpful would you consider clicking on the red link in my signature and supporting me for ubuntu membership? Also if you are happy would you please go to the top of the page and mark this thread solved by clicking on thread tools. Thank you so much.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •