Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ralink RT5390 in 11.04

Hybrid View

Beans

Ralink RT5390 in 11.04

Hi there,

This is my first post here, so hello everyone

I'll go through some background info first - I have recently installed Ubuntu 11.04 on my HP G62 laptop. The wireless card in this laptop is a Ralink RT5390 (I have confirmed this through lspci and via Windows). I'm a total linux noob, but I have researched the problem and tried following several instructions on the web for this particular wireless card (such as http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...7&postcount=42), but I seem to be failing at the first hurdle every time.

I have gotten as far as downloading the source code for the driver and attempting to compile it, but I can't seem to get it to compile. I seem to get the following result every time:

make[2]: *** [/home/donald/Downloads/wireless/os/linux/../../os/linux/cfg80211.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/home/donald/Downloads/wireless/os/linux] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38-8-generic'
    make: *** [LINUX] Error 2

I have read on some pages that I should attempt to modify the config.mk and Makefile files, but being a noob I have no idea what to look out for or what to edit.

I am aware that 11.04 is a new release of Ubuntu, could my issues be due to this being so recent and the driver requires an update from the vendor?

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Ralink RT5390 in 11.04

Please start with post #9 here. If you have a question, post back. This is a fairly advanced process, but if you follow each step carefully, you should be successful. I have subscribed to the thread, so, if you get stuck, shout and I'll help you.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...highlight=5390
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans