Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: setting primary monitor

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: setting primary monitor

    I'm new to ubuntu, just downloaded 11.04. I'm having this same issue. Is everyone being serious when you say I have to run a script or do some command line just to choose a primary monitor? Seriously?!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: setting primary monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by tommyg562000 View Post
    I'm new to ubuntu, just downloaded 11.04. I'm having this same issue. Is everyone being serious when you say I have to run a script or do some command line just to choose a primary monitor? Seriously?!
    I didn't have to. Just launch Monitor Preferences (gnome-display-properties from terminal) and click "make default" for the one you want to be primary.

    Alternately, another way I noticed the same effect previously (assumes HDMI) was to just boot up with the one monitor you want to be primary then hot-plug the secondary monitor.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Here...and you?
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: setting primary monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by themainliner View Post
    Easy...where is Preferences then?
    ^^ I like this guy ^^

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    3

    Lightbulb Re: setting primary monitor

    Hi guys,

    i have found an other way to solve the prob (because i have no option to set the primary monitor in gnome-display-properties)

    My setup: a ATI HD 5570, one monitor pugged in the dvi (supposed to be the primary) and one in the hdmi
    EDIT: using ubuntu 11.04 natty

    1. i run "xrandr" in a terminal to get the names of the monitors
    in my case it showed a DFP1 and a DFP2
    2. i tried the command xrandr --output $monitor_name --primary until the right monitor was set as primary
    e.g. xrandr --output DFP1 --primary
    still the wrong primary monitor. so i tried:
    xrandr --output DFP2 --primary
    bingo! But this will only set the primary monitor until the next reboot!
    3. I opened the monitors.xml file (located in ~/.config/monitors.xml) in a texteditor
    e.g. gedit ~/.config/monitors.xml
    I changed the value of the primary tag (of the monitor I wanted to be primary) to yes (<primary>yes</primary>) and saved the file
    4. reboot
    5. happy end

    Greetz
    scotty86

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: setting primary monitor

    ohhh... at last Thank u

    Quote Originally Posted by mr.scotty View Post
    Hi guys,

    i have found an other way to solve the prob (because i have no option to set the primary monitor in gnome-display-properties)

    My setup: a ATI HD 5570, one monitor pugged in the dvi (supposed to be the primary) and one in the hdmi
    EDIT: using ubuntu 11.04 natty

    1. i run "xrandr" in a terminal to get the names of the monitors
    in my case it showed a DFP1 and a DFP2
    2. i tried the command xrandr --output $monitor_name --primary until the right monitor was set as primary
    e.g. xrandr --output DFP1 --primary
    still the wrong primary monitor. so i tried:
    xrandr --output DFP2 --primary
    bingo! But this will only set the primary monitor until the next reboot!
    3. I opened the monitors.xml file (located in ~/.config/monitors.xml) in a texteditor
    e.g. gedit ~/.config/monitors.xml
    I changed the value of the primary tag (of the monitor I wanted to be primary) to yes (<primary>yes</primary>) and saved the file
    4. reboot
    5. happy end

    Greetz
    scotty86

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    107

    Re: setting primary monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by mr.scotty View Post
    Hi guys,

    i have found an other way to solve the prob (because i have no option to set the primary monitor in gnome-display-properties)

    My setup: a ATI HD 5570, one monitor pugged in the dvi (supposed to be the primary) and one in the hdmi
    EDIT: using ubuntu 11.04 natty

    1. i run "xrandr" in a terminal to get the names of the monitors
    in my case it showed a DFP1 and a DFP2
    2. i tried the command xrandr --output $monitor_name --primary until the right monitor was set as primary
    e.g. xrandr --output DFP1 --primary
    still the wrong primary monitor. so i tried:
    xrandr --output DFP2 --primary
    bingo! But this will only set the primary monitor until the next reboot!
    3. I opened the monitors.xml file (located in ~/.config/monitors.xml) in a texteditor
    e.g. gedit ~/.config/monitors.xml
    I changed the value of the primary tag (of the monitor I wanted to be primary) to yes (<primary>yes</primary>) and saved the file
    4. reboot
    5. happy end

    Greetz
    scotty86
    Thanks a bunch!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •