Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    E.U.
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    Hello,

    i have 3 HDD`s in my PC,

    1. 320GB Samsung Sata (Win7 Boot sda1)
    2. 500GB WD Blue Sata (Linux home swap sdc 1 2 5)
    3. 1TB Datastoragecentermillenium 2000 (storage sdb1)


    my plan is to get rid of the 320GB hdd, as far as i have seen Grub 2 is installed on my 500GB HDD so i wont have to change that i think.

    The only thing is when i disable the 320, Grub does not start, so i need to change that.

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xaad0c01b
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       38914   312568832    7  HPFS/NTFS/MonkeyFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x4902cf75
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1      121602   976759808    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000c11dd
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1               1       58336   468581376   83  Linux
    /dev/sdc2           58336       60802    19802113    5  Extended
    /dev/sdc5           58336       60802    19802112   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    ubuntu 10.10 x64, bootmanager should be grub2

    Code:
    grub-install (GRUB) 1.98+20100804-5ubuntu3
    Code:
    xxx:~$ sudo grub-probe -t device /boot/grub  === /dev/sdc1
    i think all i need to do is make the sdc1 bootable and maybe change or rebuild grub2?

    cheers and thx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Beans
    2,093
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    This should help.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Reinstalling%20GRUB%202

    It looks like the commands you will need to run are...
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sdc1 /mnt
    and...
    Code:
    sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sdc
    However, I went through this rather quickly, so check it carefully before you do it.

    .
    Last edited by Dutch70; April 11th, 2011 at 04:07 PM.
    Intel-System Freeze Post#22
    How to mark your thread [SOLVED]
    Registered Linux User-#473773-Ubuntu User-#23255-Machine-#384048

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    If you can still boot into your system you can just run the install command from there to any MBR. You then have to change BIOS to boot that drive.

    #reinstall from working (not liveCD) system - first find Ubuntu drive:
    sudo fdisk -l
    #if it's "/dev/sdb" then just run:
    sudo grub-install /dev/sdb
    #If that returns any errors run:
    sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sdb
    sudo update-grub
    #to get grub to remember where to reinstall on updates:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc
    #Enter thru first pages,spacebar to choose/unchoose drive, enter to accept, do not choose partitions
    #To see what drive grub2 uses see this line - grub-pc/install_devices:
    sudo debconf-show grub-pc

    I prefer to have grub2's bootloader in the MBR of the drive with the system. But I have Ubuntu on every hard drive because of these comments.

    Creating a Dedicated Knoppix Partition for large drives
    http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux..._partition.htm
    Except I have multiple Ubuntu installs and rotate them from drive to drive. I keep old install, current install, & beta/next install as working systems.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    E.U.
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    Hello,

    thx for all the answers !


    i have done so far :

    sudo grub-install /dev/sdc

    Code:
    Installation finished. No error reported.
    sudo update-grub

    Code:
    Generating grub.cfg ...
    Found background: /usr/share/images/grub/BonsaiTridentMaple.tga
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-28-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-28-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-27-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-27-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-22-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-22-generic
    Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
    done
    Found Win7 .....zzzzzz

    sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc

    Code:
    Installation finished. No error reported.
    Generating grub.cfg ...
    Found background: /usr/share/images/grub/BonsaiTridentMaple.tga
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-28-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-28-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-27-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-27-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-22-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-22-generic
    Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
    done
    i have klicked return on all pages like you wrote, sdc for boot and not a partition like sdc1. i hope the default was ok so i can boot now

    Code:
    grub-pc/kopt_extracted: false
      grub2/kfreebsd_cmdline:
      grub2/device_map_regenerated:
    * grub-pc/install_devices: /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKX-001CA0_WD-WCAYUD044995
      grub-pc/postrm_purge_boot_grub: false
      grub-pc/install_devices_failed_upgrade: true
      grub-pc/disk_description:
    * grub2/linux_cmdline:
      grub-pc/install_devices_empty: false
      grub2/kfreebsd_cmdline_default: quiet
      grub-pc/partition_description:
      grub-pc/install_devices_failed: false
      grub-pc/install_devices_disks_changed:
    * grub2/linux_cmdline_default: quiet splash
      grub-pc/chainload_from_menu.lst: true
      grub-pc/hidden_timeout: false
      grub-pc/mixed_legacy_and_grub2: true
      grub-pc/timeout: 10

    hope thats all right, like the Linux command, its empty

    bye

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    E.U.
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    Hello,

    back again it worked great, oldfred.

    there is still a win7 entry but who cares. i can boot from the linux sdc drive now while sda is disabled. great, now i can install another linux distro on the sda or move my /home to sda but i am not sure how safe that is, on the other hand a new ubuntu is copming soon so i could reinstall all new and change then /home with the new installation, maybe oldfred you have a solution for moving /home aswell

    but still, ubuntu didnt create a /home as default, thats really annoying now as the system grows and so /home,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Beans
    2,093
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    See if this site helps, but read it carefully, I think it's a little dated. For example, it advises ext3, you probably want ext4. Either way, it's a great site & usually offers some great info, so I thought I'd offer the link.
    Create a separate home partition in Ubuntu
    The first link on that site is a good one also.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Partitioning/Home/Moving

    This one is for creating a separate /home during installation.
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installseparatehome

    Thanks oldfred for the tip on reinstalling Grub2 from a working system.
    That will save me a lot of time.
    Last edited by Dutch70; April 12th, 2011 at 04:41 PM.
    Intel-System Freeze Post#22
    How to mark your thread [SOLVED]
    Registered Linux User-#473773-Ubuntu User-#23255-Machine-#384048

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    Dutch's link is good, I think it was the one I used but I reviewed several. To get the separate /home during an install you have to use manual install, create partitions (although I create in advance), and tell it then which partition is / (root) and its format & which is /home and its format if new or check do not format if reusing an existing /home.

    I prefer to have an entire system including /home on one drive. Data or other systems then are on other drives. Each drive also has that systems bootloader in the MBR, so each drive can work if all the other drives are missing/broken etc.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    E.U.
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Moving GRUB2 to my Linux HDD

    Thx dutch and oldfred !

    a linux on every hdd with bootloader sounds good, but i am not sure how to do that, i am thinking of installing a debian on the new old win7 hdd now, its pretty big with 320gb, for ubuntu i use 500gb lol. but i never installed more than 1 linux at a time, but i have seen and heard of people with many many linux installations on just 1 hdd.

    i will read more into that knoppix on every hdd, and the other good links you both gave me.

    cheers

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •