Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Installing Ubuntu on HP 4 Partition Machines

Beans

Installing Ubuntu on HP 4 Partition Machines

Hi everyone,

I'm new to these forums and I'm trying to figure out how to load Ubuntu onto an HP Netbook Mini 5102. I have some knowledge of what i'm doing but here's the dilemma..

I have 4 pre-loaded partitions on this HP machine, and I could just wipe the drive and put Ubuntu on there no problem, but I'd like to keep the recovery partition and Windows 7 installed in addition. The 4 partitions are as follows:

Windows 7 loader part 300mb - ntfs
    Windows 7 141gb -ntfs
    Hp recovery 16gb -ntfs
    HP TOOLS 2gb - fat32

Since I'm limited to 4 partitions per disk, I wanted to format the HP tools (HP quickweb and such) 2gb one and throw Ubuntu on it. The real problem is 2gb is just not enough for the install.

What on earth do I do?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Installing Ubuntu on HP 4 Partition Machines

Quote Originally Posted by miradus View Post
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to these forums and I'm trying to figure out how to load Ubuntu onto an HP Netbook Mini 5102. I have some knowledge of what i'm doing but here's the dilemma..

I have 4 pre-loaded partitions on this HP machine, and I could just wipe the drive and put Ubuntu on there no problem, but I'd like to keep the recovery partition and Windows 7 installed in addition. The 4 partitions are as follows:

Windows 7 loader part 300mb - ntfs
    Windows 7 141gb -ntfs
    Hp recovery 16gb -ntfs
    HP TOOLS 2gb - fat32

Since I'm limited to 4 partitions per disk, I wanted to format the HP tools (HP quickweb and such) 2gb one and throw Ubuntu on it. The real problem is 2gb is just not enough for the install.

What on earth do I do?
    You could eliminate the HP Tools partition. I am not sure of the downside of this action and haven't had the nerve to try it on my Mini 210 yet.