Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Holy Wars and Ubuntu Haters

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Holy Wars and Ubuntu Haters

Greetings fellow Ubuntu users, developers and enthusiasts. I am interested in your opinion on Ubuntu haters (and haters in general). First a short background.
    I've been using Linux since 1998. I started with Red Hat. I've used countless distros (including Gentoo, Arch, Ubuntu, Debian, Fedora, Mepis, Slackware and more). Not only am I a user but I am also a developer.
    Now, in all of my years using Linux I have never gotten any "hate" for using any other distro. The moment I mention I actually like and enjoy using Ubuntu on a few machines I get endless hate from supposed "hardcore" FOSS enthusiasts. Now, if the hate towards Ubuntu was for legitimate reasons such as poor all around performance and software issues with the distro I would understand (afterall, what distro doesn't have their problems?) but it's not. The hate is towards the users. Both n00bs and gurus alike.
    Now, I understand the hacker culture (I've been a part of it for a long time) and I know that there is a general dislike of n00bs but don't hate on someone who actually knows their stuff just because they use what might be called a "n00b friendly" distro. If you ask me, Ubuntu is great. It is great for Linux and it is great for users.
    In a nutshell, I am sick of being disrespected and immediately discredited just for using (and recommending) Ubuntu now and then.

My question for you:
    Have you gotten any hate for using Ubuntu from the hacker community? If so, what was your response? Are you trying to help improve the "Ubuntu User Stereotype"?

Beans

Re: Holy Wars and Ubuntu Haters

No, but I got hate from an obnoxious Gentoo user/Google Project Manager once. Interesting, given that Google (at the time at least) uses Debian for their server infrastructure...