Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Question Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    It's really bugging me to every time click on NTFS partitions so tht they can be mounted....
    I want to mount them permanently... i don't know how to edit fstab entry.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    110

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Well if you want us to tell you what to put in fstab your gonna need to give us some information.

    Would you please mount the NTFS partition as you normally do and after that go to the terminal and give it the command 'mount'. Please give me the output of that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,790
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclane View Post
    ...give us some information....
    +1

    Could you post the results of these two commands?
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    
    sudo blkid
    Regards.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Code:
    kodedozer@KodeWagen:~$ sudo fdisk -l
    [sudo] password for kodedozer: 
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x39515d0d
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       11132    89414772    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2           11132       22250    89298945    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda3           22250       38914   133853180    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda5           11132       20177    72652800    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6           20177       21858    13501440   83  Linux
    /dev/sda7           21858       22250     3142656   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    
    kodedozer@KodeWagen:~$ sudo blkid
    /dev/sda1: UUID="C27EFA347EFA2139" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda3: LABEL="MULTIMEDIA" UUID="9C743BA4743B8056" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda5: LABEL="CRUCIAL_CLUTCHES" UUID="BE5A8D685A8D1E71" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda6: UUID="69add51d-c5e9-4168-922f-aff9dbfd3644" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda7: UUID="11643475-99dd-4247-b806-b93d4095dd0d" TYPE="swap"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    6,771

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Use the following as a template:

    [a] Run the following command to get the right UUID number for your partition:
    Code:
    sudo blkid -c /dev/null
    [b] Unmount the partition from Nautilus if you currently have it mounted

    [c] Create a permanent mount point:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/DriveD
    [d] Add the following line to /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    UUID=DA9056C19056A3B3 /media/DriveD ntfs    defaults,nls=utf8,umask=000,uid=1000,windows_names 0       0
    Substitute the UUID number you got from step [a] in the above line

    [e] Run the following command which will test for errors and if there are none mount the partition without a reboot:
    Code:
      sudo mount -a
    We can play with the different options ( umask, uid, ... ) to modify permissions and ownership if you would like. See the following for a further discussion: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1880238

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclane View Post
    Well if you want us to tell you what to put in fstab your gonna need to give us some information.

    Would you please mount the NTFS partition as you normally do and after that go to the terminal and give it the command 'mount'. Please give me the output of that.
    I know mount command to mount, but rather than mounting manually i want it is done automatically as i login..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    6,771

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    I really should read the intervening posts before I post.

    The "mount" command would tell us what you have already mounted and how they are mounted. It's one piece of the puzzle. Some folks like to create fstab entries from that output. I do not.

  8. #8
    beew is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    2,783

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Quote Originally Posted by greendragons View Post
    I know mount command to mount, but rather than mounting manually i want it is done automatically as i login..
    Just open a folder, go to the left panel and mount from File Systems. Since even if a partition is pre mounted you would still need to open it with Nautilus to access its contents anyway this is not really an extra step. I don't think you need to do anything special with the command line or fstab.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Hi green one

    you do need to add a line in your fstab file to make the partition automount
    what you should do is:

    • create a mount point (directory)
    • open a terminal, type sudo gedit /etc/fstab
    • add a line in your fstab file that looks like: dev/sda3 /your_mountpoint ntfs auto

    sda3 is the partition you want to automount I guess
    this is how my entry looks:
    dev/sda4 /media/intern_1 ntfs auto

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Re: Mount NTFS Partitions permanently

    Quote Originally Posted by beew View Post
    Just open a folder, go to the left panel and mount from File Systems. Since even if a partition is pre mounted you would still need to open it with Nautilus to access its contents anyway this is not really an extra step. I don't think you need to do anything special with the command line or fstab.
    Auto mount is essential as i download and save data to that ntfs drive...so whenever i reboot and starts torrent it jes stuck as it does not get drive mounted...so everytime i need to make sure that i have my drives mounted after reboot...even if i don't need to access them....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •