Page 242 of 254 FirstFirst ... 142192232240241242243244252 ... LastLast
Results 2,411 to 2,420 of 2537

Thread: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

  1. #2411
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by catlover2 View Post
    Darn it, I was frantically looking around trying to find FlashVideoReplacer...

    Is there anything out there that performs a similar function? For that matter, is there any reason for me not to keep using it since I have it installed?
    https://github.com/webgapps/flvideoreplacer/downloads

    I haven't decided yet if I will continue developiong it, but as long as it works, you can continue to use it.

  2. #2412
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by apochry View Post
    Hello,

    since upgrading to version 15 the global menu stopped working for me. And I can't get it working... It's strange that I can not find any similar issues related to v15 on the net.



    So far I did the following, in order to track the cause of this:

    I'm running updated 12.04.

    • I have tried to run Firefox in safe mode in order to check, if some of the add-ons I have, is messing things up, but this was not the case.
    • I also tried removing the home/.mozzila folder so I get a fresh profile - again no luck.
    • Reinstalled the firefox-globalmenu package which is version 15.0+build1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1

    Noting of the above got the menu working.
    Any suggestions what could I do next?



    Thank you,
    Christo
    Try to create a new Ubuntu user and test if the problem persists or not. This won't solve your problem, but it could indicate if there is some gnome config messing with your global menu.

  3. #2413
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Legoland, Germany
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    Try to create a new Ubuntu user and test if the problem persists or not. This won't solve your problem, but it could indicate if there is some gnome config messing with your global menu.
    Thanks for the suggestion!
    It seems that it's not the gnome settings, that is messing things up. It happens with the Guest as well with the new account I've created.

    I have noticed, that the "Global Menu Bar integration" extension in Firefox 15 is version 3.2.5 and in Thunderbird 15 is v3.4.1.

    Shouldn't they be of the same version?

    Thanks!
    How do you sudo?

  4. #2414
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by apochry View Post
    Thanks for the suggestion!
    It seems that it's not the gnome settings, that is messing things up. It happens with the Guest as well with the new account I've created.

    I have noticed, that the "Global Menu Bar integration" extension in Firefox 15 is version 3.2.5 and in Thunderbird 15 is v3.4.1.

    Shouldn't they be of the same version?

    Thanks!
    Not necessarily. They are different packages.

    I just confirmed that disabling the extension is enough to remove the global menu.

    I recommend you report as a bug on Launchpad.

  5. #2415
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Legoland, Germany
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    Not necessarily. They are different packages.

    I just confirmed that disabling the extension is enough to remove the global menu.

    I recommend you report as a bug on Launchpad.
    Thank you.

    The strange thing is that nobody on the net is reporting similar issue after update to firefox 15. At least I couldn't find anything, and I've googled a lot.

    I will report it as a bug, but I doubt it will get any attention, since it seems to be an isolated case on my system.


    - Christo
    How do you sudo?

  6. #2416
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Legoland, Germany
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    I figured it out! Now the global menu is working on Firefox 15 for me too!

    The problem was, that for some reason, I have two folders with firefox extensions: /usr/lib/firefox/extensions and /usr/lib/firefox-addons/extensions. In each there is a folder /globalmenu@ubuntu.com in which the global menu extension files are. The extension was loaded from the first folder, which contained extension files as of version 3.2.5. The files in the second folder are of the later 3.4 version.

    What I did is to overwrite all of the files in the folder from where the extension is loaded with the later v.3.4 files from the second folder.
    That fixed the issue.

    The version of the extension files can be easily determined from the install.rdf file located in the /globalmenu@ubuntu.com folder, e.g.
    Code:
    - <RDF>
    <Description about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest">
    <em:id>globalmenu@ubuntu.com</em:id>
    <em:version>3.4</em:version>
    <em:unpack>true</em:unpack>
    <em:targetApplication>
    ...
    ..
    .
    Regards,
    Chrsito
    Last edited by apochry; September 6th, 2012 at 11:30 AM.
    How do you sudo?

  7. #2417
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by apochry View Post
    I figured it out! Now the global menu is working on Firefox 15 for me too!

    The problem was, that for some reason, I have two folders with firefox extensions: /usr/lib/firefox/extensions and /usr/lib/firefox-addons/extensions. In each there is a folder /globalmenu@ubuntu.com in which the global menu extension files are. The extension was loaded from the first folder, which contained extension files as of version 3.2.5. The files in the second folder are of the later 3.4 version.

    What I did is to overwrite all of the files in the folder from where the extension is loaded with the later v.3.4 files from the second folder.
    That fixed the issue.

    The version of the extension files can be easily determined from the install.rdf file located in the /globalmenu@ubuntu.com folder, e.g.
    Code:
    - <RDF>
    <Description about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest">
    <em:id>globalmenu@ubuntu.com</em:id>
    <em:version>3.4</em:version>
    <em:unpack>true</em:unpack>
    <em:targetApplication>
    ...
    ..
    .
    Regards,
    Chrsito
    Wow. That's great. I wonder how that happened?

  8. #2418
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Middle Click not Working

    I installed 12.04 last weekend, doing a fresh install from 10.04. Firefox is showing as 15.0. The open a new tab when middle clicking a bookmark is not functioning any more. When I middle click on a link it does open in a new tab. But from a bookmark it opens in the current tab. Suggestions on where I need to look?

    Edit: as a side note, the little icons next to all my saved bookmarks just show as little grey boxes on 90% of my bookmarks. A few do show the webpage icon, but very few.
    Last edited by TXpaniolo; September 7th, 2012 at 03:11 AM.

  9. #2419
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Land of Confusion
    Beans
    8,345
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    What is the best way to export passwords, bookmarks and such to be used on another install?

    Moving from ubuntu 12.04 to Windows 7.
    Thank you for your contributions. "So long and thanks for the fish!"

  10. #2420
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,705
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Firefox +1 Mega Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by uRock View Post
    What is the best way to export passwords, bookmarks and such to be used on another install?

    Moving from ubuntu 12.04 to Windows 7.
    i use a addon called "Password Exporter"
    there is a export option in the bookmark manager for those
    you can also use firefox sync
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

Page 242 of 254 FirstFirst ... 142192232240241242243244252 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •