Thread: Animate Drawings

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Animate Drawings

My wife is an excellent artist and has been contemplating doing a kid's book. She had a chat with me the other night about if it would be possible to animate some of her work using apps available in Ubuntu and making a digital kid's book instead, if you follow me. She has been using Ubuntu for a few years so is no newcomer but a user only, not a tweaker like myself! She is wanting to animate some of her drawings and set them on backgrounds, etc. 2D would probably be what she's after but all 3D suggestions gratefully accepted.

Now, I know this stuff is out there but not being a visual artist myself wouldn't know what is best for her purpose (although I have found plenty of animation apps!).

So, thought the best place to start would be with those who know how. All suggestions welcome and please ask if any more detail is required. She is prepared for the learning curve.

All the best ...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Animate Drawings

Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball View Post
    2D would probably be what she's after but all 3D suggestions gratefully accepted.

All suggestions welcome
    For 2D with a focus on toon animation, try ktoon (it's in the repos, but the latest version will have to be downloaded and compiled).

For 3D, the de-facto tool is Blender.

I have no experience with either of these; this is just a pointer in the direction to take.

Good luck.
    Cheers,PRShah
    Make your own: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Mythbuntu All-in-One Live DVD
    "I never make mistakes; I thought I did, once.. but I was wrong."

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Pencil in the ubuntu software center seems nice and simple and very effective at sketching out animation. Synfig studio also in the software center is a bit more complex but very powerfully. If you have a camera 'stop motion' works alright. Happy animating