Thread: Wifi issue - Dell 1510 card + BCM 4322

Beans

Wifi issue - Dell 1510 card + BCM 4322

Hey all. This is my first thread and I'm a total newbie to Ubuntu (and Linux) so please bear with me.
    I have a Dell Studio XPS 13 with a Dell 1510n which is based on Broadcom 4322 I believe? I am running 64bit Ubuntu 10.10 from my internal hard drive which also has Windows 7 (hopefully not for too long). Wireless works fine on Windows. Ethernet works on both which is what I'm using right now. Ubuntu doesn't even detect a wireless connection or card... it just shows empty bars with an annoying exclamation mark. before this, I did download Linux STA driver from Broadcom, but I'm not sure if I actually installed it. Also when I opened Additional Drivers, Linux STA driver showed up and I installed it although it says activated but not in use. I've also used Update Manager and everything seems to be up to date. Before writing this, I went through other forums so I ran (sudo lshw -C network) which will hopefully help you help me.

*-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: MCP79 Ethernet
    vendor: nVidia Corporation
    physical id: a
    bus info: pci@0000:00:0a.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: b1
    serial: 00:26:b9:1a:fe:0f
    size: 100MB/s
    capacity: 1GB/s
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 66MHz
    capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
    configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=forcedeth driverversion=0.64 duplex=full ip=192.168.1.113 latency=0 link=yes maxlatency=20 mingnt=1 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
    resources: irq:20 memory:f0888000-f0888fff ioport:30d0(size=8) memory:f0889c00-f0889cff memory:f0889800-f088980f
    *-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Network controller
    product: BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
    version: 01