Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M

Beans

Angry NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M

Guys, I have just ordered my dell XPS15 with this card in it. I have to run ubuntu for work reasons.. Tried all day to see if this card have the drivers for ubuntu. Any ideas? Really hope there is a way round this so I can keep the laptop

Anyone running a ubuntu laptop using this chip?

Thanks a million!
    Charlie

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M

Hi,

I am running Dell XPS 15 using this chip. Seems to be working fine as long as I do not install the graphics card I am trying to find a way to install as well. Managed to get wireless working too but I updated the kernel. However, I am a noob and I love the way Ubuntu is working on the laptop. I am trying to search for drivers direct from Nvidia heard that might help and I manged to play movies and all on the laptop only problem is I can't enable visual effects. I think you should be fine with this laptop.
    Last edited by C-raz; March 28th, 2011 at 03:49 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

I made the mistake of installing the "recommended driver" and now I get a black login screen that keeps telling me that my password is wrong. I have a couple of questions:

1. How do you restore the default driver?
    2. Why is the current "recommended driver" giving me this issue?

Any help would be greatly appreciate it. Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M and Wireless on Dell XPS15

Hi There,

It seems that there seems to always be a problem when you write the config file into the system. I managed to install the driver in but I still can't change the visual effects because when I went to on to do an nvidia-xconfig as root I will face the black screen checking battery state then it will give me a login prompt.