Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: can only use use terminal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kiruna (sweden)
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    can only use use terminal

    Hi, I tried to change from gdm to xdm, but now It won't work to start, and since I don't have an X-environment I can't connect to internet (this is my game computer i'm on right now...)
    so I hope that you guys could help me.

    first I tried to switch so that gdm opens with fluxbox, that worked brilliantly.
    by using this script in both .xinitrc and .xsession:

    #! /bin/bash
    gdm session &&
    exec fluxbox

    but then I thinked: but I want to play minecraftwhen I'm travelling, but I need more power to do that...

    so I tried to install and use xdm as default, but then it didn't work to startup, so I tried this:
    change in .xinitrc and .xsession:

    #! /bin/bash
    xdm session &&
    exec fluxbox

    but it still does not work. so I can only terminal on my Liux computer...

    So can anyone help me with this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: can only use use terminal

    First remove those entries from the files, since it is imo an unusual way to choose a default DE. You can use the "nano" editor for that, it's fairly intuitive compared to the other command line editors:
    Code:
    nano .xinitrc
    Then the other.

    If you restart after this, XDM should come up with the usual login options, there you can choose a "Session", after entering/clicking your name, and those choice should be remembered the next time you login. No need to manually modify any files then.

    If you use autologin, just logout after the autologin to get those options. Alternatively you can specify your default DE manually in "~.dmrc".
    Last edited by Krytarik; February 25th, 2011 at 12:43 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kiruna (sweden)
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: can only use use terminal

    I tried to do what told me to, nut it still does not start up, I even tried to remove those files, but it just did not work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: can only use use terminal

    Then try:
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xdm
    or "gdm" if that doesn't work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kiruna (sweden)
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: can only use use terminal

    Hi, i've tried what you told, but I only get this message: system start/stop links for /etc/init.d/xdm already exist.

    about a week ago I tried to reinstall gdm by typing;

    sudo apt-get remove gdm
    sudo apt-get install gdm

    I can't install it again since I need to download 741 kb of archives

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: can only use use terminal

    Is "gdm" then installed currently?
    Code:
    dpkg -l |grep gdm
    If so, then try the mentioned command.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kiruna (sweden)
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: can only use use terminal

    As I said, Can't reinstall gdm, so it is not installed....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: can only use use terminal

    Try to get to the console with network access by following the first steps of this guide:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/resetpassword

    You could also download it from here:
    http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?su...s&keywords=gdm

    and install it with "dpkg":
    Code:
    sudo dpkg -i package_name.deb
    If you issue the command from the "root shell prompt", then run it without "sudo".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kiruna (sweden)
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: can only use use terminal

    thanks alot, now I can finally use my computer wise again. because now it works as it were supposed to work - with X-server up and running

    but do you guys know how to switch to XDM without this to happen?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kiruna (sweden)
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: can only use use terminal

    sorry for dubbel post, but I must tell U this

    it worked fine, that will say, until I reboot computer, because then I get an init error;

    init: ureadahead main process (51) terminated with status (5)

    and then it tries to boot, but it can't since it having massive amounts of problems with apparmor, and then it still want to start xdm, but it fail with doing so, so it freezes, (I can only have teminals now, again...)

    shall I write what it says (only the thing I can see) on the screen when it freezes?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •