Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dhclient on boot after wpa_supplicant

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Question dhclient on boot after wpa_supplicant

    Hello wonderful Ubuntu-gurus. I apologize if there's a solution to this somewhere on the forum, but I searched around on google for several hours before posting this, so I assure you, I'm not trying to waste your time.

    Here's the deal. I have a file/print server running wpa_supplicant on interface wlan0 via ndiswrapper. Its wireless because the location I need the printer in is really inconvenient to have to run wires to, or I wouldn't have this problem.

    The box is running ubuntu server 10.10, with only ndiswrapper and the associated utils and wpa_supplicant installed in addition to the default packages required for file/print/web serving. (there may be a few trivial packages like Vim that should have no effect whatsoever.)

    Basically, wpa_supplicant associates fine with the AP, but I can't get any elegant way of getting a IP address with it, DHCP or static makes no difference. My current fix is my rc.local file has:

    Code:
    sleep 60
    dhclient wlan0
    return 0
    which works, except that startup takes a minute longer than it should, and occasionally association takes longer than 60 seconds, which means it fails.

    /etc/network/interfaces contains:
    Code:
    #This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    #Wireless Networking Devices
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
            pre-up wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/home/server/wpa.conf
            post-down killall -q wpa_supplicant
    wpa.conf contains
    Code:
    network={
            ssid="ACTIONTEC"
            #psk="CENSORED"
            psk=CENSORED
    }
    and finally, /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf
    Code:
    option rfc3442-classless-static-routes code 121 = array of unsigned integer 8;
    
    send host-name "<hostname>";
    #send dhcp-client-identifier 1:0:a0:24:ab:fb:9c;
    #send dhcp-lease-time 3600;
    #supersede domain-name "fugue.com home.vix.com";
    #prepend domain-name-servers 127.0.0.1;
    request subnet-mask, broadcast-address, time-offset, routers,
            domain-name, domain-name-servers, domain-search, host-name,
            netbios-name-servers, netbios-scope, interface-mtu,
            rfc3442-classless-static-routes, ntp-servers;
    #require subnet-mask, domain-name-servers;
    timeout 10;
    retry 60;
    #reboot 10;
    #select-timeout 5;
    initial-interval 2;
    I have tried changed the interfaces file to static and listing the network info, as I don't need it to be dynamic, and it doesn't work at all. If I don't run dhclient manually (or with rc.local) netstat -r outputs nothing, and ifconfig lists only IPv6 address.

    Any help with a more elegant solution would be wonderful.

  2. #2
    James78's Avatar
    James78 is offline Extra Foam Sugar Free Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: dhclient on boot after wpa_supplicant

    Here's how I do mine (it's never failed me). If my instructions are not exact, just let me know and I'll try to fix them.

    /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    ...
    # The primary network interface
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
    	address 192.168.1.120
    	netmask 255.255.255.0
    	network 192.168.1.0
    	broadcast 192.168.1.255
    	gateway 192.168.1.1
    Then..
    Code:
    sudo wpa_passphrase apname > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    <enter password>
    /etc/rc.local
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh -e
    #
    # rc.local
    #
    # This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
    # Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
    # value on error.
    #
    # In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
    # bits.
    #
    # By default this script does nothing.
    
    # start wpa_supplicant in background mode
    wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
    # start up dhclient
    dhclient wlan0
    
    exit 0
    Extra reference (probably not much help though, basically the same thing I said above)
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...5&postcount=11
    Last edited by James78; February 15th, 2011 at 04:16 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    5

    Re: dhclient on boot after wpa_supplicant

    Thanks for the answer but is there a way to do this without asking for a static ip ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,958
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: dhclient on boot after wpa_supplicant

    Hello Guys.

    I'm trying to configure my wireless connection on my server but something weird is happening.
    I have two cards on my server, one wired and another one wireless.
    After set up all the setting of wpa_supplicant and execute the commands to connect, the wlan0 network get IP and connected on my AP.
    But, when I log into my AP and ask to list all attached devices, I see the wlan0 card connected with the same MAC Address from the wired card. And if I unplug the network cabe from eth0, both connections goes down.

    I will sent the steps that I followed with my configuration files to see if you can help me, please.

    root@server:~# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:54:21:27:1f
    inet addr:192.168.1.9 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::208:54ff:fe21:271f/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1116 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:517 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:106880 (106.8 KB) TX bytes:80933 (80.9 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2c00

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1524 (1.5 KB) TX bytes:1524 (1.5 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:06:4f:70:f8:c8
    inet addr:192.168.1.10 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::206:4fff:fe70:f8c8/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:122 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:19857 (19.8 KB) TX bytes:21919 (21.9 KB)

    root@server:~#

    Follow the steps:

    ifconfig wlan0 up
    ifconfig
    wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
    ifconfig
    ps aux | grep [w]pa
    iwconfig wlan0
    dhclient wlan0

    root@server:~# cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    network={
    ssid="AP-NOVO"
    scan_ssid=1
    proto=WPA
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    #psk="REMOVED"
    psk=REMOVED
    }
    root@server:~#

    root@server:~# cat /etc/network/interfaces
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    #wireless
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp


    Follow the output of the attached devices from router:

    3 192.168.1.9 SERVER 00:08:54:21:27:1F
    4 192.168.1.10 SERVER 00:08:54:21:27:1F

    if you can see, the MAC is the same of the eth0.

    What is wrong? I want to use only the wireless card..is it possible, right?

    I'm running ubutu 12.04.

    Thanks in advanced by any help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Delft, the Netherlands
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: dhclient on boot after wpa_supplicant

    Heya, I was having some issues stoo. My solution is exactly wat the first poster had, and just added -B to the pre-up line. I didn't change anything for the dhclient or rc.local. This was in 12.04 by the way.

    The .conf file should of course point to the proper location.

    So in /etc/network/interfaces I have
    Code:
    #Wireless Networking Devices
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
            pre-up wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
            post-down killall -q wpa_supplicant

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •