Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need Help installing .tgz file

Beans

Need Help installing .tgz file

hello, I am new to Ubuntu and don't know how to install downloaded programs made for linux.

I downloaded zimbra (email client) for linux.

file name is:

zdesktop_2_0_1_b10659_linux_i686.tgz

its saved on my desktop.

when I double click it (like windows), there is no .exe file its just lots of folders within folders and files.

Help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Cool Re: Need Help installing .tgz file

1. What version of Ubuntu are you using? Is it the server version?

2. Did you Google for "How to install .tgz file in Ubuntu?

3. Have you unzipped, or extracted the file? If so, is there a "Read Me" file there? If so, what does it say?

** Just trying to establish how much you may have already done **

To extract to the Desktop, right click and select "Extract Here" - or something to that effect.

also - look here -
    http://wiki.zimbra.com/wiki/Zimbra_Desktop_2
    If at first you don't succeed - just buy the company and tell them to make the one you want.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Need Help installing .tgz file

Quote Originally Posted by rfjfj View Post
    hello, I am new to Ubuntu and don't know how to install downloaded programs made for linux.

I downloaded zimbra (email client) for linux.

file name is:

zdesktop_2_0_1_b10659_linux_i686.tgz

its saved on my desktop.

when I double click it (like windows), there is no .exe file its just lots of folders within folders and files.

Help.
    Did you try reading the instructions provided with the package, or on the web page where you downloaded the file from? From what I can find out with Google, there's a shell script inside that you must run as root; it should be like "install_zimbra_client.sh" or something similar.

Open up a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and type:

Code:
    sudo sh