Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brother HL-2270DW

Beans

Brother HL-2270DW

Hi guys,

I'm trying to install the drivers of this printer without success. I am a newb at ubuntu so I am trying ways outside the terminal. That is, I tried using the add printer function in the printing menu in administration. It gives me a nice list of printers for which drivers are available but not for my model which I believe is quite new. At least the network picks up the printer though since it is already installed on a few computers in this house. (It is not hooked up to any of the computers, it is standing alone on the wifi).

I went to the brother website to look at the drivers and there I can download LPR and CUPS drivers but I have no idea what these are. They both come in two forms, either RPM or DEB. I clicked on the LPR deb one and was able to install it because the software centre popped up and I just had to click. The CUPS doesn't install however. I click install and at after the progress bar has finished it doesn't say that the driver is installed.

I made the two following steps before starting:

1. "sudo aa-complain cupsd" command is required before the installation.
    2. "sudo mkdir /usr/share/cups/model"
    command is required before the installation.

I understand it is to give me administrator access, however I really don't know what cups or lpr is (do I need to retype these if I restart my computer?). The second is to creatre a directory but I don't know why. I don't think I am too far from getting this complete since the printer is seen on the network, but I need a little help, for which I would be very thankful!

Have a good weekend,

David

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Re: Brother HL-2270DW

I just installed my brother printer this morning so I'll try to help you.

open up a terminal and type or paste in the following command:

Code:
    dpkg  -l  |  grep  Brother