Page 39 of 49 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 ... LastLast
Results 381 to 390 of 490

Thread: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

  1. #381
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Hello!

    I've just uploaded the new Version 0.8.0 to the ppa

    Changelog:

    * Added Support for ubuntu Quantal 12.10
    * migrated keybindings to dconf

    Since Quantal keybindings are stored in dconf schemas, so i needed to migrate them from the old gconf xml files. Currently the new version is only available & useful for quantal installs.

    Cheers!
    Ubuntu for the EeePC-1015PN

  2. #382
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    402
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Thanks for all your ongoing work mtron. I hope you know there are many, many people that appreciate it all.

    I for one am very grateful.


  3. #383
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    13

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Hi,

    I have a problem with my 1015pn and quantal.

    I did a fresh quantal install (including all the updates).

    I installed mtrons ppa with:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mtron/eee1015pn
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    sudo apt-get install eee1015pn-acpitools

    Now after rebooting, I end up with just the shell. The desktop will not load anymore.

    sudo display-settings status
    tells me acpi_call.ko could not be loaded.

    Any idea what the problem might be and why the modules can't be loaded?

    Thanks.
    Pete

  4. #384
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    yes. Probably you did not reboot to the latest installed kernel before installing the dkms module.

    For a better bug analysis i need the dkms log of the faild build.

    to check if this is your problem:
    Reboot in the lastest installed Kernel and run from the command prompt
    Code:
    uname -a
    dkms status
    if the acpi-call module does not show up at all:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall acpi-call-tools
    if acpi-call is listed for an older kernel but not the current one

    Switch to root or prefix with sudo

    Code:
    dkms build -m acpi-call -v 1.1.1 -k $(uname -r)
    dkms install -m acpi-call -v 1.1.1 -k $(uname -r)
    depmod 
    modprobe acpi-call
    What the commands do:
    - build acpi-call module version for the current kernel
    - install the compiled module to /lib/modules
    - re-generate kernel modules (with our new one)
    - load the acpi-call module

    You can check acpi_call related kernel messages with

    Code:
    dmesg | grep acpi_call
    Ubuntu for the EeePC-1015PN

  5. #385
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    13

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Hi mtron,

    thanks for helping me.

    I know now why acpi_call didn't compile for me, I had the wrong kernel-headers installed.

    I can load acpi_call now, but it still won't boot into the graphical desktop.

    Code:
    $ uname -a
    Linux seashell 3.5.0-17-generic #28-Ubuntu SMP Tue Oct 9 19:31:23 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Code:
    $ dkms status
    acpi-call, 1.1.1, 3.5.0-17-generic, x86_64: installed
    bbswitch, 0.4.2, 3.5.0-17-generic, x86_64: installed
    bcmwl, 5.100.82.112+bdcom, 3.5.0-17-generic, x86_64: installed
    nvidia-current, 304.43, 3.5.0-17-generic, x86_64: installed
    After boot:
    Code:
    $ dmesg | grep acpi_call
    [   24.121845] acpi_call: Module loaded successfully
    [   24.426121] acpi_call: Calling \AMW0.DSTS 0x90013
    [   24.426847] acpi_call: Call successful: 0x30001
    Like I said my 1015pn doesn't boot to the graphical desktop, but the stange thing is, when I do
    Code:
    $ sudo apt-get remove eee1015pn-acpitools
    the boot process continues and lightdm starts. I don't have to reboot only launching apt-get remove leads to the start of lightdm...

    I'm confused...

  6. #386
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    hello!

    Please post /var/log/Xorg.0.log when lightdm fails to start. Also did you try to start lightdm from a terminal directly? (just "sudo lightdm") This might show a error message.
    Ubuntu for the EeePC-1015PN

  7. #387
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    13

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    After doing:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install eee1015pn-acpitools
    the boot process hangs on "F7" with the ubuntu screen and the five red dots moving from left to right. When I push ESC I see only "OKs" and no "Fails" the last 4 lines are:
    Code:
    Starting GNOME Display Manager
    Stopping GNOME Display Manager
    Starting Mount network filesystem
    Stopping Mount network filesystem
    When I log in like on "Strg+Alt+F1", and do a ll /var/log I see that the Xorg.0.log is not from the current boot. It's from the last time X worked, because the timestamp is to far in the past.

    sudo service lightdm stop ----> hangs
    sudo service lightdm start ----> hangs

    sudo lightdm ----> and lightdm starts immediately

    all I did so far on my 1015pn
    - install quantal
    - install all the updates
    - install gnome-shell
    - add your ppa
    Last edited by petehild; October 28th, 2012 at 08:45 PM.

  8. #388
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    HEllo!

    I tried to reproduce this bug, and got the same result. the problem is that gnome-shell depends on gdm (the native gnome login manager => this is a Packaging bug. gnome-shell should just suggest or recommend gdm, not depend on it. Please report this bug to the gnome-shell ubuntu maintainers) so it gets installed automatically with gnome shell.

    Although in theory gnome's gdm and ubuntu's lightdm shold co-exist next to each other in practice they don't.

    What i did to work around this bug: Use one of the 2 login managers and purge the other one. I kept lightdm, so

    sudo apt-get purge gdm
    sudo apt-ger install --reinstall lightdm unity-greeter

    After doing this i rebooted and lightdm auto starts again. If the Login manager still does not start on you system please provide the /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log file
    Last edited by mtron; October 29th, 2012 at 08:33 AM.
    Ubuntu for the EeePC-1015PN

  9. #389
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    13

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Thanks a lot, that helped

    I had to go with gdm, because purge gdm also purges the gnome-shell.
    I noticed that when I use gdm, lightdm can be installed next to gdm. When I use lightdm, gdm can not be present.

    Any idea, why
    sudo apt-get remove eee1015pn-acpitools
    seems to "fix" the issue?

  10. #390
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    I suspect a bug in lightdm. Since it's been rewritten recently it might block something in the start process.

    But this is just a guess you could compare the changes in the lightdm package since precise and test what commit broke this.

    Best workaround is to fix the gnome-shell package and remove the gdm Dependency.
    Ubuntu for the EeePC-1015PN

Page 39 of 49 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •