Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 107

Thread: Vodafone USB (K 3805-z)

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Quote Originally Posted by buteobuteo View Post
    I did ask about 1002 changing to 1003 in previous post, is it significant? I did choose internet (not internetinternet) as this is in the XP setup. The device is contract and I entered exactly as you show except sakis does not ask for DNS 1 &2.
    Had missed that thanks
    from usb_info the device has different ID's depending
    how configured,

    but as to the reason "still trying to figure out"
    still looking at the info : ie blinking lights and swapping between win and Linux
    ZTE rules EJECT, or use usb_mode switch , or eject from the desktop

    as said your the one with the device: so will have to monitor

    at the end of the day need to get the device as stable as possible:


    can also try the TWO TERMINALS
    here we are assuming the device is recognized as 1003 and all the checking is OK
    and try the <cid> at
    +CGDCONT: 2,"IP","internet","",0,1
    ,
    dial command for this would be "ATDT*99***2#"

    open up the first terminal and enter this code
    Code:
    tr -s "\n" < /dev/ttyACMO
    open up second terminal and enter this dial command code
    Code:
    echo -e "ATDT*99***2#\r" > /dev/ttyACM0
    if it shows
    CONNECT or CONNECT <NUMBER> ,in the first terminal
    or can try the dial command 3 or 4 times if connect does not show

    enter this code in the second terminal
    Code:
    sudo pppd ttyACM0 115200 debug nodetach defaultroute noipdefault noauth lock usepeerdns user web password web
    if primary and secondary addresses show then your connected
    see what happens post the results

    Also curious : was the replacement complete with sim card , or just the device and use existing sim
    Last edited by alexfish; February 3rd, 2011 at 01:05 AM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Please excuse my ignorance but what is
    Code:
    and try the <cid> at
    Didn't like
    tr -s "\n" < /dev/ttyACMO

    vic@UbuntuBabyAsus:~$ tr -s "\n" < /dev/ttyACMO
    bash: /dev/ttyACMO: No such file or directory

    Lost original device in rush to catch plane, replacement was device + sim

    Device is recognised (by lsusb and flashing blue light) when plugged in after a cold start with Meerkat, don't need to prime it in XP first.

    Had a look in /dev it shows tty0 to tty63 with todays date. Is this normal?
    Last edited by buteobuteo; February 3rd, 2011 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Addition
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    can do check with

    ls -al /dev/serial/by-id ... the file does not exist usually stems from 2 events

    the main one it is not recognized , the other is the removal of the device , and the reconnection before the system had time to settle , so the /dev/acm0, may have changed to something like /dev/ttyACM1 or 2 or other number

    also did you check the routines step by step as previously posted

    ie lsusb etc

    as can see from previous post these steps are necessary ,

    the device behaves in a strange manor and has multiple ID's

    as your post: and a subsequent, attempt to connect ( almost succeeded ) the un-switched ID is 19d2:1001
    Re: Vodafone USB
    Very strange, I left the dongle in whilst re-booting into Meerkat and the lsusb showed Bus 001 Device 006: ID 19d2:1002 ONDA Communication S.p.A. which means connected? The device was showing a blue LED (blue - 3G, red - not connected, green - GPRS). When lsusb shows 2001 the device has a red LED. I cannot sudo apt-get install usb-modeswitch until I'm home and connected in Meerkat.

    Although the device was showing it was not actually connecting, where do we go from here?
    Step 1. After this rebooted and then plugged device in, after short while it changed from red flashing to blue flashing. First time it's ever done that, lsusb returned
    Bus 001 Device 007: ID 19d2:1003 ONDA Communication S.p.A.
    Why now showing 1003?
    The constant blue light , seems good to me , Looks like behavior of a ZTE ready to go . was it a reboot from windows or a reboot
    Ubuntu back into Ubuntu
    what happens if boot Ubuntu from scratch with the device connected

    Don't want this thread stretching all the way to Sidney Harbour , almost half way there now .................
    Last edited by alexfish; February 3rd, 2011 at 11:16 PM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Looked in /dev and saw ttyACM0 and ttyACM1
    Tried changing command to ttyACM1 and saw

    CONNECT 14400000

    in first window, then realised that I,d copied ACM(oscar) not ACM(zero)

    Tried ttyACM0 (without rebooting) but returned error.

    Does that make any sense?

    Device shows as 1003 with blue flashing when inserted after boot into Meerkat or if booted with device plugged in.
    Last edited by buteobuteo; February 3rd, 2011 at 11:28 PM. Reason: Addition
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Quote Originally Posted by buteobuteo View Post
    Looked in /dev and saw ttyACM0 and ttyACM1
    Tried changing command to ttyACM1 and saw

    CONNECT 14400000

    in first window, then realised that I,d copied ACM(oscar) not ACM(zero)

    Tried ttyACM0 (without rebooting) but returned error.

    Does that make any sense?
    The CONNECT 14400000

    means your connected to a cell , from here issue the pppd command in the second terminal as previously posted'


    the meaning of <cid> in sim card can be looked up here

    How To : Mobile Broadband Connections [ Ubuntu 10.10 : 10.04 : 9.10 ]

    Added/
    from
    Tried ttyACM0 (without rebooting) but returned error.
    Does that make any sense?
    the device ports ttyACM* , yes it does make sense, but not logical sense, as in should
    this device should always connect to ACM0

    may be assuming ,had time reading through the How to link ,that detecting and resourcing new devices can be an arduous task , not only in Linux , but also in windows
    I have read through the Vodafone forum concerning this device,
    possible if the VB script was available , and in the right hands then perhaps they could make some headway,

    From the info you have posted , it is necessary , to test each port to see which one will connect, but also check the device ID's to which the ports have been allocated by the linux system ,

    with some of the above in mind, Had pre posted below.
    Last edited by alexfish; February 5th, 2011 at 03:39 AM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    as previosly mentioned , the device will be recognized as 1003
    from reboot from windows to Ubuntu

    here is a suggestion .

    catch the device when in the 1003 mode , with constant blue LED

    READ THROUGH THE POST AND DIGEST. actions and sequences prior to committing , read three or four times , to get the picture in the mind

    open the first terminal to monitor / edit the ttyACM* to suit the modem /
    you should know how to identify this from previous posts
    Code:
    tr -s "\n" < /dev/ttyACMO
    open the second terminal
    Code:
    echo -e "AT+ZCDRUN=8\r" > /dev/ttyACM0
    this may turn the cd part of the device off

    command for stay connected
    Code:
    echo -e "AT+ZOPRT=5\r" > /dev/ttyACM0
    find the device function status
    Code:
    echo -e "AT+CFUN?\r" > /dev/ttyACM0
    post the results

    can also try connection , as mention post #71

    unplug the device , reboot , see what the device ID shows

    if shows as 1003 repeat the above ,try the connection again

    can also get the results of these two commands from the terminal . Prior to Reboot and have constant blue light , ID = 192d:1003
    Code:
    echo -e "AT+CLAC\r" > /dev/ttyACM0
    Code:
    echo -e "AT&V\r" > /dev/ttyACM0
    zip the two files and post in attachments, via Sidney Harbour...

    if problem when in windows

    CD back on by AT+ZCDRUN=9
    Last edited by alexfish; February 4th, 2011 at 04:08 PM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    When device is in 1003 mode the blue LED is flashing, exactly the same as when working in XP.

    The device is now always in this mode in Meerkat, it doesn't matter if it is in when booted or if inserted after booting.

    Have attached file with results of all five commands given.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    look at the file only AT+CLAC listed
    some new commands in there . as to meaning of these , got no Idea as yet, tried to google the meanings , to no avail

    did you try the connection as mentioned at post #71

    remember you have to find the port which will give the "CONNECT 14400000" message

    as your
    Looked in /dev and saw ttyACM0 and ttyACM1
    Tried changing command to ttyACM1 and saw

    CONNECT 14400000

    in first window, then realised that I,d copied ACM(oscar) not ACM(zero)

    Tried ttyACM0 (without rebooting) but returned error.

    Does that make any sense?
    yes try ttyACM1 if this is the port it connects to
    also edit the tty* to suit in the pppd connection script : this bit "sudo pppd ttyACM0" to sudo pppd ttyACM1
    Code:
    tr -s "\n" < /dev/ttyACM1
    Code:
    echo -e "ATDT*99***2#\r" > /dev/ttyACM1
    Code:
    sudo pppd ttyACM1 115200 debug nodetach defaultroute noipdefault noauth lock usepeerdns user web password web
    Last edited by alexfish; February 6th, 2011 at 09:38 PM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    tty/ACM1 definitely returns the connect 1400000 but device is still flashing blue. My apologies for poor observation, I was using device in XP today and it is solid blue when connected.
    The sudo pppd command returned
    Code:
    Couldn't set tty to PPP discipline: Device or resource busy
    Will reboot and try pppd command before doing anything else.

    After re-boot
    vic@UbuntuBabyAsus:~$ sudo pppd ttyACM1 115200 debug nodetach defaultroute noipdefault noauth lock usepeerdns user web password web
    [sudo] password for vic:
    using channel 1
    Using interface ppp0
    Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyACM1
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xe5ff2980> <pcomp> <accomp>]
    LCP: timeout sending Config-Requests
    Connection terminated.
    Modem hangup
    vic@UbuntuBabyAsus:~$
    What does that lot mean? Blue flashing throughout.
    Last edited by buteobuteo; February 7th, 2011 at 09:40 PM. Reason: addition
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Hi
    weird , result , but sakis3g does connect and then gets a disconnect message.
    have been trolling , and thinking , Ref to this cdc_ether ,
    had noticed from some log files posted on other forums , NM attempting to auto connect to usb0(net)
    can have the device attached and post results of these commands from the terminal
    Code:
    grep NetworkManager /var/log/syslog
    and this one
    Code:
    grep modem-manager /var/log/syslog
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •