Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 107

Thread: Vodafone USB (K 3805-z)

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Quote Originally Posted by alexfish View Post
    Hi

    file shows

    046d:c016:Optical USB Mouse
    058f:6335:Mass Storage Device
    0b05:b700:BT-253
    13d3:507b:USB2.0 UVC PC Camera
    19d2:1002:K3805-z
    [01657] [20:09:30] No plugged modems found.
    [01657] [20:09:30] Asking user to select: OTHER Please select modem type Select modem category that best fits your 3G modem. Select Cancel USBMODEM USB device BLUETOOTH Bluetooth modem CUSTOM_TTY Custom tty...
    [01657] [20:09:30] Asking user to select: OTHER Please select modem type Select modem category that best fits your 3G modem. Select Cancel USBMODEM USB device BLUETOOTH Bluetooth modem CUSTOM_TTY Custom tty...
    [01657] [20:09:30] Variable OTHER is not set already.
    /-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [01657] [20:09:30] Will now run command: \'/bin/rm -f /tmp/sakis3g.zenity.pipe\'
    /-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    \-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [01657] [20:09:30] Command returned 0.
    \-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [01657] [20:09:30] PID 3846 is still running.
    [01657] [20:09:31] PID 3846 is still running.
    [01657] [20:09:31] Prompting user to select variable OTHER.

    I am curious how at some stage sakis was requesting to choose an interfaface

    Hoping you can replicate

    Posts #50 and post #52

    alexfish
    Cannot replicate, sakis only asked to choose an interface the first time it was run. It asked if I wanted #0 #2 or #4, I checked with "lsub" and the K3805-z showed on #2 so I chose #2.

    Added

    The device had been primed and working in XP the second time and was showing blue flashing LED.

    ADDED

    It will re-ask if started again, on #0 and #2 it tries to connect twice and fails, on #4 it says "locating tty" but fails.
    Last edited by buteobuteo; January 31st, 2011 at 09:46 PM.
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Quote Originally Posted by buteobuteo View Post
    Cannot replicate, sakis only asked to choose an interface the first time it was run. It asked if I wanted #0 #2 or #4, I checked with "lsub" and the K3805-z showed on #2 so I chose #2.

    Added

    The device had been primed and working in XP the second time and was showing blue flashing LED.

    ADDED

    It will re-ask if started again, on #0 and #2 it tries to connect twice and fails, on #4 it says "locating tty" but fails.
    need to cross reference with the tcl lshal-modem script . hope it is still on the Desktop RE: post #43

    Code:
    tclsh `pwd`/Desktop/lshal-modem.tcl
    also check the lsusb command for the ID's

    ADDED: RE post #51
    requested menu option from sakis3g
    only prepare modem (Setup+PINunlock+RegisterNetwork+UdateHAL)
    and from post #43 where the lshal script showed
    info.capabilities = {'serial', 'modem'} (string list)
    modem.command_sets = {'V.250'} (string list)
    serial.device = '/dev/ttyACM1' (string): modem:


    info.capabilities = {'serial', 'modem'} (string list)
    modem.command_sets = {'V.250'} (string list)
    serial.device = '/dev/ttyACM0' (string): modem:
    Last edited by alexfish; January 31st, 2011 at 10:33 PM. Reason: ADDED
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    This was on the desktop, have to log off until tomorrow.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    RECAP:

    and take the following steps

    post #1

    With Lynx I plugged in the Vodafone USB dongle and it just asked "What network" and "Acount or payasyougo" and then connected. However Meerkat seems to ignore the dongle except to show the windows loader files on the desktop. How do you connect with Meerkat please?

    can try right click and eject the device or file see if the device ID = 19d2:1002
    with the lsub command

    Code:
    lsusb
    also
    my reply post#2 is

    How to check for the option driver and modprobe option driver module
    STEP 1:
    in the link there is a reference to ZTE devices not switching

    then the how to write the rule

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/zte_eject.rules
    add this line edit the device ID's according to the device : in this case the rule would be

    Code:
    SYSFS{idVendor}=="19d2", SYSFS{idProduct}=="1001", RUN+="/usr/bin/eject %k", OPTIONS+="last_rule"
    save exit and reboot (with the device connect)

    to ensure device is seen on the system

    the lsusb command

    and note the ID's

    should show

    ID 19d2:1002 ONDA Communication S.p.A
    .

    if confirmed the device is seen in this state : assume reasonably stable
    but test connect on boot with device connected ; then connect device after boot

    see which is most stable

    if the device is not stable and still getting device ID ID 19d2:1001

    then need to look at usb_modeswitch

    had requested if the usb_modswitch was installed on the system (need reply)

    IF OK go to step 2

    STEP 2:
    from

    Code:
    lsusb
    if recognized as 19d2:1002 . see if drivers are loading
    Code:
    usb-devices
    should show
    T: Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
    D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=ef(misc ) Sub=02 Prot=01 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
    P: Vendor=19d2 ProdID=1002 Rev=00.01
    S: Manufacturer=Vodafone
    S: Product=K3805-z
    S: SerialNumber=1B04BBA38D69AC7ABFCA71D3F47B4307FDE05 14E
    C: #Ifs= 9 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
    I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=02 Prot=01 Driver=cdc_acm
    I: If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_acm
    I: If#= 2 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=02 Prot=01 Driver=cdc_acm
    I: If#= 3 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_acm
    I: If#= 4 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=06 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_ether
    I: If#= 5 Alt= 1 #EPs= 2 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_ether
    I: If#= 6 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
    I: If#= 7 Alt= 0 #EPs= 0 Cls=02(commc) Sub=0b Prot=00 Driver=(none)
    from this it confirms the device has switched and the drivers are loading ( but at present not sure if the config is correct)
    IF the output looks like the above go to step 3

    Step 3:

    the tcl script

    to execute the script

    Code:
    tclsh `pwd`/Desktop/lshal-modem.tcl
    in the terminal it should show
    info.capabilities = {'serial', 'modem'} (string list)
    modem.command_sets = {'V.250'} (string list)
    serial.device = '/dev/ttyACM1' (string): modem:

    info.capabilities = {'serial', 'modem'} (string list)
    modem.command_sets = {'V.250'} (string list)
    serial.device = '/dev/ttyACM0' (string): modem:
    if everything checks out the can proceed to run the sakis3g script at Step 4

    STEP 4:
    ensure the sakis3g-src script is on the desktop
    Code:
    exec `pwd`/Desktop/sakis3g-src --debug 2> `pwd`/sakis/sakis3g.txt
    from the menus select
    only prepare modem (Setup+PINunlock+RegisterNetwork+UdateHAL)
    once done the file will be in the sakis folder

    IF the file shows
    no modem
    do not post the file ,just reply " modem not detected"

    If the file indicates a modem exits
    zip the file and upload to attachments
    Last edited by alexfish; February 1st, 2011 at 12:03 AM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Step 1. After this rebooted and then plugged device in, after short while it changed from red flashing to blue flashing. First time it's ever done that, lsusb returned
    Bus 001 Device 007: ID 19d2:1003 ONDA Communication S.p.A.
    Why now showing 1003?
    Did try to instal usb_modswitch but failed.
    ls-usb returned
    Code:
    T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#=  7 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
    D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=02(commc) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
    P:  Vendor=19d2 ProdID=1003 Rev=00.01
    S:  Manufacturer=Vodafone
    S:  Product=K3805-z
    S:  SerialNumber=1B04BBA38D69AC7ABFCA71D3F47B4307FDE0514E
    C:  #Ifs=10 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
    I:  If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 0 Cls=02(commc) Sub=08 Prot=00 Driver=(none)
    I:  If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=02 Prot=01 Driver=cdc_acm
    I:  If#= 2 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_acm
    I:  If#= 3 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=02 Prot=01 Driver=cdc_acm
    I:  If#= 4 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_acm
    I:  If#= 5 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=06 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_ether
    I:  If#= 6 Alt= 1 #EPs= 2 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cdc_ether
    I:  If#= 7 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
    /usr/bin/usb-devices: line 79: printf: 08: invalid octal number
    I:  If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 0 Cls=02(commc) Sub=0b Prot=00 Driver=(none)
    /usr/bin/usb-devices: line 79: printf: 09: invalid octal number
    I:  If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 0 Cls=0a(data ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=(none)
    Ran step 3 script
    Code:
    vic@UbuntuBabyAsus:~$ tclsh `pwd`/Desktop/lshal-modem.tcl
      info.capabilities = {'serial', 'modem'} (string list)
      modem.command_sets = {'V.250'} (string list)
      serial.device = '/dev/ttyACM1'  (string): modem:
    
    
      info.capabilities = {'serial', 'modem'} (string list)
      modem.command_sets = {'V.250'} (string list)
      serial.device = '/dev/ttyACM0'  (string): modem:
    
    
    vic@UbuntuBabyAsus:~$
    Step 4
    Code:
    [01625] [20:23:59] No plugged modems found.
    Doesn't make much sense to me. Will try reloading usb-modeswitch.
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Reloaded usb-modeswitch and tried
    Code:
    sudo usb_modeswitch -v 0x19d2 -p 0x1001 -P 0x19d2 -V 0x1002 -M "5553424312345678000000000000061b000000020000000000000000000000" -n
    Result
    Code:
    vic@UbuntuBabyAsus:~$ sudo usb_modeswitch -v 0x19d2 -p 0x1001 -P 0x19d2 -V 0x1002 -M "5553424312345678000000000000061b000000020000000000000000000000" -n
    [sudo] password for vic: 
    
    Looking for target devices ...
     No devices in target mode or class found
    Looking for default devices ...
     No default device found. Is it connected? Bye.
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Seem OK till Sakis

    Repeat the Steps as mention in previous post , no need to post results
    if everything OK till you get to the sakis stage

    everything OK
    Code:
    exec `pwd`/Desktop/sakis3g-src --debug 2> `pwd`/sakis/sakis3g.txt
    When using sakis should ensure to follow these menus sequences
    more options
    select
    select only prepare modem (setup+PIN unlock+Register network+UpdateHAL)
    select
    USB device
    select
    <your device>
    see what happens

    post the the results in attachments
    ADDED

    OOP's
    just noticed when running sakis in debug as above
    that the contents of debug file disappears / maybe catch some of it from the terminal
    Last edited by alexfish; February 2nd, 2011 at 09:10 PM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    OK up to Sakis
    When got to interface, it asked #1 #3 or #5 chose #1 as device showing 001 on lsusb. Still failed to connect, file attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Vodafone USB

    Quote Originally Posted by buteobuteo View Post
    OK up to Sakis
    When got to interface, it asked #1 #3 or #5 chose #1 as device showing 001 on lsusb. Still failed to connect, file attached.
    sakis log shows some interesting bits
    USBMODEM='19d2:1003'
    previous ID,s show
    USBMODEM='19d2:1002'
    when the device is recognized as 19d2:1003 and ran the sakis script ,actually connects

    except for a LCP failure : possible things to look at :

    also of note from the info there appears to be APN "internetinternet" , this does not look correct
    and sakis3g was dialing on this info

    according to the sim provider info

    network-id mcc="234" mnc="15"

    and looking up the data base

    there are three options for this simcard {mainly to with the pay plans and APN's and passwords}

    Options
    Contract:
    APN = internet
    Username = web
    Password = web
    DNS1 = 10.206.65.68
    DNS2 = 10.203.65.68

    Prepaid:
    APN = pp.vodafone.co.uk
    Username = wap
    Password = wap
    DNS1 = 172.29.1.11
    DNS2 = 172.29.1.11

    TopUp and Go:
    APN = pp.internet
    Username none
    Password none
    it is possible to use these option in sakis3g by using custom APN
    if using Custom APN and Username & Password not required , just enter " pass " or any word of your choice { the servers don't ask for them}

    maybe worth a try

    although you will have to monitor the device ID's before trying the connection
    and monitor what happens , keep using the logging options

    from the log : parts of the connection details
    Note the first line and the also the LCP failure with NCP
    AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internetinternetinternet"
    pppd options in effect:
    Serial connection established.
    [04721] [20:58:36] Waiting for interface to go up (1 seconds passed).
    Using interface ppp0
    Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyACM0
    Remote message: Icera PPP - Password Verified OK
    PAP authentication succeeded
    [04721] [20:58:37] PID 11209 is still running.
    [04721] [20:58:37] Interface ppp0 is up.
    [04721] [20:58:37] Waiting for interface to go up (2 seconds passed).
    [04721] [20:58:38] PID 11209 is still running.
    [04721] [20:58:38] Interface ppp0 is up.
    [04721] [20:58:38] Waiting for interface to go up (3 seconds passed).
    LCP terminated by peer (0021: Normal Termination by NCP)
    Hangup (SIGHUP)
    Modem hangup
    Connection terminated.
    ADDED:
    when the device shows the ID 19d2:1003 , does Network Manager recognize the device

    also of note from the log is the AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP"

    it seems to be accumulating "
    internet" in the same area of the sim : IE first shows " internetinetnet" then "intenetinternetinternet"
    MONITOR THIS ,
    from the log
    +CGDCONT: 1,"IP","internetinternet","",0,1
    +CGDCONT: 2,"IP","internet","",0,1
    Last edited by alexfish; February 3rd, 2011 at 12:01 AM. Reason: ADDED
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Vodafone USB

    I did ask about 1002 changing to 1003 in previous post, is it significant? I did choose internet (not internetinternet) as this is in the XP setup. The device is contract and I entered exactly as you show except sakis does not ask for DNS 1 &2.

    Not sure where Network Manager is, there is network connections in System/Preferences or network tools in System/Administration. I did have a look in software sources but there seems to be several Network managers, didn't want to try loading the wrong one and make things worse.
    Last edited by buteobuteo; February 3rd, 2011 at 08:51 PM. Reason: Addition
    Don't take life too seriously, you'll never come out of it alive.

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •