Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    1,941

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    Quote Originally Posted by molinus View Post
    Update:

    I just went back after lunch, and cannot get to the server via the Network Browser, nor can I get mywebsite again (just from the PCs).

    During that time, there have been no interactions (no input/output) on either the server or the PCs!!!

    Something is severely fubar with Ubuntu.

    I think maybe WINS is not working correctly - it seems to work intermittently, so I am considering setting up BIND DNS on Ubuntu.

    Does anyone think BIND DNS might solve the website issues and Network Browsing from all machines?
    If you've modded hosts files, or tried going directly thru the IP - then no, BIND would make no difference (methinks).

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    23

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    Good point - I forgot about the hosts file on each machine - duh.
    That should take care of any IP name resolution issues.

    From a networking standpoint, I have Samba configured to be domain master, local master, preferred master, and os level 255, and all PCs WINS set to the server IP.
    The server is always on.

    I think I need to concentrate on getting Samba networking consistently with Winblows before moving forward with the website issue.

    Thanks to all for your time and support.
    Last edited by molinus; January 13th, 2011 at 09:19 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Beans
    746
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    when you say you pinged the hostname, you need to clarify this.

    avahi hostnames are only useful in my example if you use the hostname they create :

    so if your ubuntu machine is called "heimdal", then the avahi hostname for it will be heimdal.local

    here is a valid virtual-host definition file for such an address :
    a. assuming your network device is eth0, and
    b. that you have disabled the defaul virtual-host :
    Code:
    sudo a2dissite default
    sudo a2dissite default-ssl
    c. make sure that /etc/apache2/sites-enabled no longer contains files named "default"

    1. For development purposes add yourself to the apache usergroup.
    Code:
    sudo adduser $USER www-data
    2.Create the virtual host file system for the virtual host
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/logs -p
    sudo touch /var/www/heimdal.local/logs/errors.log
    sudo touch /var/www/heimdal.local/logs/access.log
    sudo touch /var/www/heimdal.local/logs/authentication.log
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/cgi-bin -p
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/db -p
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html -p
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/css -p
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/js -p
    sudo mkdir /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/img -p
    sudo touch /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/index.html
    sudo touch /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/favicon.png
    sudo touch /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/favicon.ico
    3. Modify the permission giving ownership to the apache user group. and making it readable by any user account on the machine.
    Code:
    sudo chown www-data:www-data /var/www/heimdal.local/ -R
    sudo chmod 775 /var/www/heimdal.local/ -R
    4. Create the virtual host definition file for the new virtualhost
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/apache2/sites-available/heimdal.local
    Paste the following
    Code:
    <VirtualHost *:80>
     ServerAdmin root@localhost
     ServerName heimdal
     ServerAlias heimdal.local
     DocumentRoot /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html
    
     <Directory /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/>
      Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
      AllowOverride All
      Order allow,deny
      allow from all
     </Directory>
    
     Alias /robots.txt /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/robots.txt
     Alias /favicon.ico /var/www/heimdal.local/public_html/favicon.ico
    
     LogFormat "'time'='%t', 'user'='%u', 'client-ip'='%a', 'server-ip'='%A', 'server-name'='%v', 'url'='%U', 'status'='%>s'" authentications
     ErrorLog /var/www/heimdal.local/logs/errors.log
     CustomLog /var/www/heimdal.local/logs/access.log combined
     CustomLog /var/www/heimdal.local/logs/authentications.log authentications
    </VirtualHost>
    save it :
    Code:
    ctrl + o
    ctrl + x
    5. Enable it :

    Code:
    sudo a2ensite heimdal.local
    sudo service apache2 restart
    sudo service avahi-daemon restart
    6. Allow access to the apache and avahi ports :
    Code:
    sudo ufw allow in on eth0 to any port 80
    sudo ufw allow in on eth0 to any port 5353
    7. access it via avahi/bonjour enabled operating systems with
    Code:
    http://heimdal.local/
    Last edited by airtonix; January 14th, 2011 at 11:26 AM.
    Fear is the mindkiller....
    The little death that obliterates...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    220
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    So if I have correct.

    Your MACs can all connect to the website using the serverip or hostname. They can access the Samba shares with no issues?

    Your PCs can do none of the above?

    Are your MACs and PCs recieving the same IP address etc. from the same DHCP server or are they static?

    If it is working for the MACs and not the PCs then I don't think it is a Ubuntu issue, it is an issue on the PCs. I don't understand how you get no replies from a PING but you are then able to browse to the Samba Share on the Server.

    On a PC do start->run->//serverip and OK. This will connect to the Samba Share on the Server. If that works then I fail to understand why you cannot access the websote on the same server


    Rgds
    Chris

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    23

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks so much for your responses and your time - I'm going to whip this or die trying.
    Please see my answers below (I think the numbered list 1 thru 4 is the most telling):

    Quote Originally Posted by chrislynch8 View Post
    So if I have correct.

    Your MACs can all connect to the website using the serverip or hostname. They can access the Samba shares with no issues?
    That is correct

    Your PCs can do none of the above?
    That is correct

    Are your MACs and PCs recieving the same IP address etc. from the same DHCP server or are they static?
    All IPs are static and:
    1) I can successfully ping all PCs from all the Macs and from Ubuntu server
    2) I can successfully ping all the Macs from all the PCs
    3) I can successfully ping all the PCs from all the other PCs
    4) I just cannot successfully ping the Ubuntu Server from any PC


    If it is working for the MACs and not the PCs then I don't think it is a Ubuntu issue, it is an issue on the PCs. I don't understand how you get no replies from a PING but you are then able to browse to the Samba Share on the Server.
    I mention an Ubuntu problem, because yesterday I was able to connect to a Samba share from 2 PCs, then an hour later I was not able to connect from them, but I have always connected from the Macs - it seems like there may be an intermittant Samba disconnect to only the PCs

    On a PC do start->run->//serverip and OK. This will connect to the Samba Share on the Server. If that works then I fail to understand why you cannot access the websote on the same server
    I am going to set at least one series of 200 pings to Ubuntu from a PC and see if any of them connect to test for an intermittent problem


    Rgds
    Chris

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    220
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    Quote Originally Posted by molinus View Post
    Hi Chris,

    Thanks so much for your responses and your time - I'm going to whip this or die trying.
    Please see my answers below (I think the numbered list 1 thru 4 is the most telling):
    Yes 1 -> 4 is very strange. This suggests that the problem in on the PC. Did you say earlier that the PCs can access the internet?

    Are the Statis settings for DNS, WINS, gateway etc. correct on the PCs?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    1,941

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    Do you have some group policies being pushed on the PCs?

    Anything different with the network configuration between the MACs and PCs?

    Have you tried bringing in another PC (like a laptop running Win) just to see if there is something funky with the PCs in your network?

    It definitely seems client-related if the other machines on your network don't have an issue getting to the server.

    Oh, I didn't ask - you said all IPs are static, did you put in default gateway and DNS information on the network interfaces? Stupid question, I just am grabbing at straws here!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    23

    Re: LAN website not accessible from any Windows LAN browsers

    Re posts #16 & 17:

    I am grasping at straws too - all machines have Internet access, and Gateway / Mask / DNS / WINS IPs are configured correctly (see the numbers 1-4 mentioned in post #15).

    Here are the spooky results of my test running 200 pings of 32 bytes to the server:

    The first 188 pings timed out.
    The last 12 responded!
    time to reply - 3263ms for the first one, two at 1ms, one at 250ms, and the other 8 at 1ms.

    ??????

    I am now on a quest.

    Update:

    On three different Windows machines (laptop running XP Home - desktop running XP Professional - desktop running Windows 7) I got the same results: after awhile it would connect and I had access to mywebsite and all server shares. 5 minutes later it would not connect.
    The 3 Macs have been connected to the server all day with no interruptions...
    Last edited by molinus; January 14th, 2011 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Update

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •