Thread: Apache 2.2.16 .htaccess file problem

Beans

Arrow Apache 2.2.16 .htaccess file problem

Hello all

I'm just getting started with hosting/building my website
    - [sort of teach myself project] -
    and I'm using the lamp setup.

I've had good success so far, and have managed to put basic php control scripts together and some basic user interaction pages with mysql working in the background.

Thing is though - as is probably the norm when anyone starts working with a webserver - after monitoring the logs for a few weeks/months over xmas - ive noticed the bots and trawlers hitting the server and looking for stuff like "phpmyadmin, sqlmanager" etc.

So I decided to go with some .htaccess files for now as nothing interesting on my server anyways.

Ive only got the basic apache2 site setup running - the basic 1 vhost 000-default.

Inside the .htaccess file I plcaed the following,

SetEnvIf User-Agent "^ZmEu$" bad_bot
    <Directory /var/www>
    Order Deny,Allow
    Allow from all
    Deny from env=bad_bot
    </Directory>

SetEnvIf User-Agent "^Morfeus ****ing Scanner$" bad_scan
    <Directory /var/www>
    Order Deny,Allow
    Allow from all
    Deny from env=bad_scan
    </Directory>

I thought this would be fine - and block only the traffic that had the headers "ZmEu" and "^Morfeus ****ing Scanner" [APPOLOGIES FOR THE LANGUAGE THERE but thats how it appaears, im sure many have seen it in their access.log before.

The thing is, those SetEnvIf's seem to block all traffic, I cant even get to my site from localhost when I put that in the .htaccess file.
    When I delete those entries - all is fine again.
    I dont understand why theyre blocking all traffic.

Can anyone shed any light on the problem for me please?

Many thanks in advance.

Hyp

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Apache 2.2.16 .htaccess file problem

In all honesty, what I'd do is just ignore them.