Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should we really promote Linux?

Beans

Should we really promote Linux?

I wanted some honest opinions please ....

I'm a senior systems analyst and I own a tech support company. My business is 100% Linux powered; everything from the server room to the telephones. We don't use Microsoft products of any description and I get monumentally p!@@#d off that I can't buy the hardware I want without buying Microsoft garbage in the process. Yes, I call them and return the Windows license for credit but it's a process that shouldn't be necessary.

However ....

The vast majority of business comes from supporting the various Microsoft operating systems that are forced on people when they buy a new machine. Malware riddled PCs are a constant source of revenue and are the ONLY reason I employ staff. So even though my staff use Linux, and indeed we use Linux to recover Windows, I don't promote Linux because the more people that use it the less work there will be.

Is that wrong?
    Last edited by kevxh; January 3rd, 2011 at 01:34 AM.

Beans

Re: Should we really promote Linux?

Advocacies of any sort is a personal mission,
    With your Line of work, it's a business decision, "Strategic" I might add.

Now is it moral? not for me to judge.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

I can see your point of view, no Microsoft, no money.
    I do promote it, since that means more spare time for me. I'm not working in the support business, and friends and family keep comming to me with their virus ridden windows installs. Those that I have converted to Linux have no more problems, and that keeps both me and them happy. Now they just come to me when they buy a new computer, and want to transfer all their data from the old one. Makes life so much easier.
    AMD Phenom II x6 2.8/3.3, 8 GB ram, GTX 550Ti 1024MB gfx, Xubuntu 13.10.

Beans
    Hidden!

in a strange sense you are enabling the MS drug fix habit to continue.