Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: grub2 not listing windows 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ottawa.ca
    Beans
    57
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    grub2 not listing windows 7

    hi, big fan, want to get this working, I am trying to dual boot win 7 and ubuntu 10.10. I have separate hard drives for each os 60g ssd for win 7 and 160g hhd for ubuntu and 2-1 tb storage drives, I installed win 7 first, worked fine, bought a copy of "Linux format" in december, had a copy of ubuntu 10.10 so I installed it . Upon boot grub does not see my windows 7 os, just ubuntu10.10. How do I get grub 2 to see the other os?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: grub2 not listing windows 7

    Try two things.

    First, open a terminal, and:

    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    If that doesn't work, I've come across a couple of cases where the app os-prober - which is responsible for detecting other operating systems for grub - was not installed. That is quite inexplicable because os-prober should be part of a default installation. Nevertheless, open System > Administration > Synaptic. See if os-prober is installed. If it isn't, install it and run 'sudo update-grub' again.
    Ubuntu 16.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 14.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - IRC #ubuntuforums

    Member: Not Canonical Team

    Please do not PM me about your forum account unless you have been asked to. The correct place to contact an admin about your account is here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ottawa.ca
    Beans
    57
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: grub2 not listing windows 7

    thank you for replying, got it working by typing in the terminal

    sudo apt-get install os-prober
    now grub sees it and its working fine, thank you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: grub2 not listing windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by carvish View Post
    thank you for replying, got it working by typing in the terminal

    sudo apt-get install os-prober
    now grub sees it and its working fine, thank you
    I'm curious - are you using lubuntu? I know that it wasn't 'shipping' with os-prober but wasn't aware of other Ubuntu distros which didn't include it.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: grub2 not listing windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    I'm curious - are you using lubuntu? I know that it wasn't 'shipping' with os-prober but wasn't aware of other Ubuntu distros which didn't include it.
    The OP installed from the Linux Format DVD, so I'm wondering if os-prober went awol somewhere in the remastering. One of the cases I came across was on the Linux Format forum. The other was on this forum. I'll see if I can find it.

    EDIT: yes, here it is. Seemingly confirmed in Ubuntu 10.10. Odd

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1647659
    Last edited by coffeecat; January 2nd, 2011 at 01:28 AM.
    Ubuntu 16.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 14.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - IRC #ubuntuforums

    Member: Not Canonical Team

    Please do not PM me about your forum account unless you have been asked to. The correct place to contact an admin about your account is here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: grub2 not listing windows 7

    Thanks coffeecat. I do seem to vaguely remember that now that you have dug it up...
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ottawa.ca
    Beans
    57
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: grub2 not listing windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    I'm curious - are you using lubuntu? I know that it wasn't 'shipping' with os-prober but wasn't aware of other Ubuntu distros which didn't include it.
    ubuntu 10.10
    Last edited by drs305; January 2nd, 2011 at 04:01 AM. Reason: Formatting

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •