Thread: New Guy

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

New Guy

Ok, I just recently downloaded Ubuntu 10.10 and have it on a DVD. I can boot it all the way up and it works great, but I want to install it alongside Snow Leopard. It seems like it will work fine (everything including internet connection is working) however, when it gets to the "Allocate Drive Space" section of the install, my only options are "Erase and use the entire disk" and "Specify partitions manually."

Now I know I'm a noob, but I've read over and over that their SHOULD be a "Install alongside other operating system" option or something of that nature.

Any help?

My Macs versing is 10.6.5 by the way if that helps.

Oh and since I'm new and all... I'm really sorry if theres already something addressing this problem. I couldn't find it.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: New Guy

Hi,

In my experience the 'install alongside' option is if you install Ubuntu on a machine that already has another OS.
    Actually tried it on both Mac and Win but quite some time ago.

As I read it you have OSX installed now and want to install Ubuntu, correct?

It is not my place to question your desire to install OSX but I find it very user un-friendly.
    Personally I would wipe it all together and start from scratch.

Can't remember the procedure a 100%...but if you go for manual partitioning I think you can resize the OSX installation to create room for your Ubunut installation.
    If not then create a boot disc with Gparted (search on web) and boot from that, resize, then install Ubuntu.

I always go for manual partitioning so I can have my /home on a separate partition but that requires a bit of reading if you want to go beyond the standard install.

Hope someone else with more OSX expertice can help out... or at least confirm if what I am writing is not completly bollocks
    Last edited by Elaztic; December 23rd, 2010 at 10:34 AM. Reason: misread the question...

Beans