Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ZTE MF 180 USB Modem not recognized anymore

Hybrid View

Beans

ZTE MF 180 USB Modem not recognized anymore

Hi!

I've been using all kinds of distros so far before settling with Ubuntu ~2 years ago. So while I'm not a complete beginner I never really advanced into Linux...

Recently I got myself a ZTE MF 180 USB modem and following the instructions here http://blog.lynxworks.eu/2010/08/hua...buntu-10-04-1/ I actually got it to work on my Thinkpad X61 running 10.04.

Two days later after not having changed anything it suddenly doesn't work anymore. Using lsusb @ dmesg I identified three problems:

1.) dmesq is stuck with 'usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning' almost every time I plug in the modem.

2.) The Product ID of the modem keeps changing between 0177 and 2000 whenever I unplub and replug it.

3.) modem-modeswitch doesn't seem to do anything (when invoked manually)

any help is appreciated!

greetings from the wintery Austria,
    Martin

dmesg output:

Code:
    [ 4028.336112] usb 1-3: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 5
    [ 4028.472126] usb 1-3: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    [ 4028.474707] scsi11 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
    [ 4028.475055] usb-storage: device found at 5
    [ 4028.475060] usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
    lsusb -v output for the modem:

Code:
    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 19d2:2000 ONDA Communication S.p.A. ZTE MF627/MF628/MF628+ HSDPA
    Device Descriptor:
      bLength                18
      bDescriptorType         1
      bcdUSB               2.00
      bDeviceClass            0 (Defined at Interface level)
      bDeviceSubClass         0 
      bDeviceProtocol         0 
      bMaxPacketSize0        64
      idVendor           0x19d2 ONDA Communication S.p.A.
      idProduct          0x2000 ZTE MF627/MF628/MF628+ HSDPA
      bcdDevice            0.00
      iManufacturer           3 ZTE,Incorporated