Thread: Network Manager not connecting to Linksys Wireless-G when SSID is Hidden

Network Manager not connecting to Linksys Wireless-G when SSID is Hidden

Hi!

I'm brand new to Linux (had some very limited experience with Unix in the 80s, but primarily a windows user otherwise).

I am having trouble getting Network Manager to establish a connection to my Linksys Wireless-G when the broadcast of the SSID is disabled.

Some background:

My wife just replaced her small business laptop with a new laptop, and I am the beneficiary of the old Dell Inspiron 500m w/1.3 GHz Pentium M Centrino. It had been running XP (home edition?) and we had upgraded to 1 GB of RAM from its original 256 MB. It has a 20 GB hard drive.

I decided to go fully into the deep end and overwrote XP with a full install of Ubuntu 10.10 desktop. After an initial installation glitch (bad CD?), I tried the USB drive, and the new Linux OS came right up!

I had trouble establishing/maintaining a wireless connection to my Linksys Wireless-G. I am using WPA-PSK and I disable the broadcast of the SSID. Checking through the posts, I see there is a history of trouble with Network Manager and wireless connections.

I found these pages enlightening, though they did not provide me with a solution:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wi...ShootingGuide/

I had noticed that my config/driver was using Channel 1, though my router was on Channel 9. iwconfig would not allow me to change the driver setting ("Error for wireless request 'Set Frequency' (8B04) : SET failed on device eth1 ; Operation not supported."). So, just for grins, I decided to make my SSID visible just to see if my router showed up among the other neighborhood routers that are broadcasting their SSIDs. The router immediately connected! And, the config/driver was switched to Channel 9 to match my router. So, it seems like hiding the SSID may be contributing to the problem.