Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: apt-get install command

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    154

    apt-get install command

    Hello guys, I have kubuntu 10.10 and I tried to install a driver for wireless card with the apt-get install command and did not work (firmwireb43....) anyway, I got my wireless to work afterwards, but now everytime that I install something through apt-get install command, it would install the program and then show the same errors from the previous installation attempt, how can I make it not to show anymore???


    When I install kwrite, it'd show this (I'm installing it for the second time, I did this so you can see the error at the end)...

    sudo apt-get install kwrite

    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    kwrite is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 173 not upgraded.
    1 not fully installed or removed.
    After this operation, 0B of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
    Setting up firmware-b43-installer (4.150.10.5-4) ...
    Not supported low-power chip with PCI id 14e4:4315!
    Aborting.
    dpkg: error processing firmware-b43-installer (--configure):
    subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    firmware-b43-installer
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)




    //No matter what I installed it'd show the same errors at the end (firmware-b43-installer)

    //By the way, I'm still learning linux...I just want it to dissapear

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: apt-get install command

    give this a try

    sudo aptitude autoclean
    sudo aptitude clean
    Kind Regards,
    Rajinder Yadav | http://DevMentor.org | Do Good! ~ Share Freely

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    154

    Re: apt-get install command

    I'm not sure if I did it right. I did this....

    sudo aptitude autoclean
    [sudo] password for tony:
    sudo: aptitude: command not found


    sudo aptitude clean
    sudo: aptitude: command not found


    What am I doing wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    201
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: apt-get install command

    try using
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clean
    sudo apt-get autoclean
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    2.33GHz, 4MB l2 cache, 1333MHz FSB intel core 2 quad
    4Gigs dddr2 800 RAM, 5-5-5-18 timing
    nVidia GTS 250

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    154

    Re: apt-get install command

    This was my output....

    tony-Inspiron-1525:~> sudo apt-get clean
    tony-Inspiron-1525:~> sudo apt-get autoclean
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    tony-Inspiron-1525:~> sudo apt-get autoremove
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 173 not upgraded.
    1 not fully installed or removed.
    After this operation, 0B of additional disk space will be used.
    Setting up firmware-b43-installer (4.150.10.5-4) ...
    Not supported low-power chip with PCI id 14e4:4315!
    Aborting.
    dpkg: error processing firmware-b43-installer (--configure):
    subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    No apport report written because MaxReports is reached already
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    firmware-b43-installer
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


    I tried to install another program and did not fix it... what should I do?

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Rawalpindi, Pakistan
    Beans
    5,669
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: apt-get install command

    firmware-b43-installer has been causing problems for many users recently. Most of them solved by removing it completely.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge firmware-b43-installer

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: apt-get install command

    Quote Originally Posted by raac View Post
    I'm not sure if I did it right. I did this....

    sudo aptitude autoclean
    [sudo] password for tony:
    sudo: aptitude: command not found


    sudo aptitude clean
    sudo: aptitude: command not found


    What am I doing wrong?
    Nothing. Aptitude is not installed by default in 10.10. You can safely substitute 'apt-get' for 'aptitude' in the above commands.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    154

    Re: apt-get install command

    Thank you so much guys

    the command

    sudo apt-get remove --purge firmware-b43-installer
    fixed my problem

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: apt-get install command

    just realized i like using aptitude over apt-get =P and for that to work you would 1st need to install aptitude ..mental note, use apt-get when replying to post on here!
    Kind Regards,
    Rajinder Yadav | http://DevMentor.org | Do Good! ~ Share Freely

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •